Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: DCC for Bachmann GP40?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Zombington, KY
    Posts
    13,567
    Blog Entries
    16
    Thanks
    3,191
    Thanked 7,026 Times in 3,529 Posts
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default DCC for Bachmann GP40?

    My N-scale starter set came with a Bachmann Santa Fe GP-40. I don't know what model or part #. Wasn't advertised as DCC-ready or anything. When I pop the shell off, nearly the whole thing is a pair of big weights, screwed together (left/right) and covering up all the internals. No sign of a plug anywhere, just the motor windings visible in the middle of the big iron blocks.

    Is there a DCC conversion for this type of loco, or is it destined for the auction block when I (eventually) upgrade to DCC? As I understand it, you can't run a DC loco on a DCC track, right?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sembach, Germany
    Posts
    1,688
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    581
    Thanked 408 Times in 281 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TwinDad View Post
    My N-scale starter set came with a Bachmann Santa Fe GP-40. I don't know what model or part #. Wasn't advertised as DCC-ready or anything. When I pop the shell off, nearly the whole thing is a pair of big weights, screwed together (left/right) and covering up all the internals. No sign of a plug anywhere, just the motor windings visible in the middle of the big iron blocks.

    Is there a DCC conversion for this type of loco, or is it destined for the auction block when I (eventually) upgrade to DCC? As I understand it, you can't run a DC loco on a DCC track, right?
    This loco can be upgraded to DCC. It will take some work, but I have done two or three Bachmann's and with a little creativity they workout fine.

    Also many DCC sets to allow you to run a DC loco along with the DCC.
    Doug S.

    Proudly Serving In The US Army

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Boyds & Midlothian, MD, USA
    Posts
    841
    Thanks
    830
    Thanked 76 Times in 51 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The basic idea behind converting to DCC is isolate the two motor brush contacts from other electrical parts of the loco. Then, the four basic wires of concern from the decoder are: the two to the track and the two to the motor.

    So possibly after some effort to disassemble the loco and isolate and gain access to electrical contacts; two for the motor, and two for the track, and some grinding to isolate motor contacts, make space for the decoder and wire runs, with a little soldering, you will have a handy DCC conversion of just about any locomotive.

    All the best,
    Charles

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to taz-n-rr For This Useful Post:


Similar Threads

  1. New Bachmann 4-8-4
    By Bryan in forum Steam
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 3rd Aug 2011, 10:26 PM
  2. Decoder for Bachmann Plymouth
    By Bryan in forum DCC
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 26th Mar 2007, 11:58 AM
  3. Bachmann Mountain conversion
    By JohnW in forum Steam
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27th Aug 2005, 08:49 PM
  4. New Bachmann DCC
    By in forum DCC
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 19th Jan 2005, 06:01 PM
  5. Bachmann 4-8-2
    By n2trains in forum Steam
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th May 2004, 09:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •