Thread: Do ultrasonic cleaners work well?

General area of central Alabama, Birmingham
    Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,048 Times in 401 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Do ultrasonic cleaners work well?

Hello,

I'm considering getting an ultrasonic cleaner. But I've heard both pros and cons.

Has anyone had experience/success with an ultrasonic cleaner?
    If it has worked for you what cleaning solution did you use?
    If it has not, what did you do to improve its performance?
    What type/brand of ultrasonic cleaner do you suggest?
    What do you use it for besides metal wheel sets?
    Where is the best source for an inexpensive ultrasonic cleaner that works well?
    Thanks

See ya
    Ron
    Last edited by 69Z28; 21st Apr 2011 at 01:35 AM. Reason: verbage
    "Men go and come,
    but earth abides." Ecclesiastes 1:4

Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Not that I'm an expert have you maybe stopped by a local jewelery store to get some ideas from some pros in the business you should surely have some up there in Bama.

Pete
    Eighty 1 Fourever

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Newbie51 For This Useful Post:

Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,188 Times in 1,141 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I have one but have not used it for any model railroad uses yet. One thing that is a slight danger I hear is that it can melt plastic. The micro bubbles produce heat and can actually cause issues for plastics. I use mine to clean my glasses and wifes jewelery. Thought about cleaning wheels, but have not tried it yet.
    Sean McC

"No man is a failure ...

who has friends." -- Clarence

5. The Following User Says Thank You to seanm For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)