Page 1 of 9 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Coffee Table Layout

Thanks
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Coffee Table Layout

I am a college student living in an apartment. With that said, I purchased some track from my local hobby shop from the bargain bin and have been wanting to make a small layout just big enough for a couple of sidings and a continuous loop . Something that I could roll under my bed or up on a shelf.

I came across this picture of a layout inside of a coffee table and thought this would be perfect because it would serve 2 purposes in my small apartment. There is a Good Will Restore down the road that I could maybe pick up a coffee table for relatively cheap.

I have access to wood shops and other labs through the university so I have the tools to repurpose the table. I was wondering if anyone on here has already accomplished this feat? If so, any recommendations would be greatly appreciated. If not, any words of wisdom?

Thanks,

RailKing50

Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,107 Times in 514 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I have been dreaming of a coffee table layout for years. I can't seem to ever get all my druthers into one plan small enough. My last version was about 40 X 60 inches and included steep grades, hard to reach hidden track and 3 levels, removable top and side glass panels..... yeah, a bit unrealistic.... but like I said, a dream... and can't seem to settle for less. There are lots of coffee table ideas out there. A websearch will show quite a few ideas and plans. There have been a few layouts showcased in the MRR mags over the years. Good Luck.

https://www.google.com/search?q=n+scale+coffee+table+layout&tbm=isch&tbo= u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=CtYbUsTnENj-4APAuYFQ&ved=0CC4QsAQ&biw=1600&bih=799
    Steve - Jugtown Modeler..............Don't know enough about railroading yet, but scale modeling is my life..............Web-Folio