Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 36 of 36

Thread: Imrc gp10?

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Tinton Falls, NJ
    Posts
    2,100
    Blog Entries
    3
    Thanks
    713
    Thanked 1,172 Times in 760 Posts
    Mentioned
    36 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gatrhumpy View Post
    Conrail. Damn. There goes another $187 of mine.
    I was thinking the same thing
    "It's not whats best......It's whats best for you"

    Gary

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    385
    Thanks
    246
    Thanked 343 Times in 132 Posts
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Aww, no undec? Pfft, come on Intermountain, loads of us paint these things up in our own roads, and it's never pleasant to paint over a lovely factory applied livery.

    Quote Originally Posted by Spookshow View Post
    The first batch of roadnames isn't doing much for me. Although they did do TC&W in HO, so maybe they'll do that in N someday.

    -Mark
    I'd rather have an undec, truthfully. This is precisely the sort of small B-B diesel that a shortline like what I'm modelling would hoover up in droves, budget allowing.
    Welcome to the AHHR, where Steam and Diesel work together!


  3. #23
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    2,566
    Thanks
    1,057
    Thanked 3,229 Times in 1,073 Posts
    Mentioned
    31 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JennyC6 View Post
    Aww, no undec? Pfft, come on Intermountain, loads of us paint these things up in our own roads, and it's never pleasant to paint over a lovely factory applied livery.



    I'd rather have an undec, truthfully. This is precisely the sort of small B-B diesel that a shortline like what I'm modelling would hoover up in droves, budget allowing.
    Buy the one that has the correct color handrails for you and strip the shell. It costs less than $1 to strip one down.
    Karl

    CEO of the Skally Line, an Eastern MN Shortline

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to jpwisc For This Useful Post:


  5. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    605
    Thanks
    133
    Thanked 760 Times in 247 Posts
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I gotta get myself an ADM version :d2:
    Did someone say whitcomb?

  6. #25
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    2,566
    Thanks
    1,057
    Thanked 3,229 Times in 1,073 Posts
    Mentioned
    31 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Intermodalman View Post
    I gotta get myself an ADM version
    Those do look nice...
    Karl

    CEO of the Skally Line, an Eastern MN Shortline

  7. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    385
    Thanks
    246
    Thanked 343 Times in 132 Posts
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jpwisc View Post
    Buy the one that has the correct color handrails for you and strip the shell. It costs less than $1 to strip one down.
    What I'll probably do is just buy the Conrail ones and spray over what's already there. The paint already on that thing will work as a primer, it's already the same general color(Albiet a much lighter shade, the blue my shortline's livery is based on is much deeper and richer than what Conrail uses), etc-etc. Handrail color happens to line up too, but honestly, I'll just paint them too.
    Last edited by JennyC6; 15th Nov 2017 at 03:50 PM.
    Welcome to the AHHR, where Steam and Diesel work together!


  8. #27
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 303 Times in 145 Posts
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It doesn't look like it would take much alteration for IM to use this tooling for a Santa Fe 'Topeka Cab' geep rebuild that were also grabbed up by shortlines from coast to coast when Santa Fe finally pensioned them off.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to westfalen For This Useful Post:


  10. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    374
    Thanks
    253
    Thanked 1,780 Times in 253 Posts
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Allen H. View Post
    While on the subject of IMRC locos.
    Has anyone heard whether or not Digitrax, TCS, NCE or any of the other aftermarket producers are planning to make drop in chips for the SD40-2 or even the new GP10?
    This is the only one that I know of so far for the IMRC SD40-2.

    http://store.sbs4dcc.com/ESU54650Lok...nforPost-.aspx

    Cheers,
    Brian

  11. #29
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    3,601
    Thanks
    4,284
    Thanked 5,457 Times in 1,884 Posts
    Mentioned
    94 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Brian K View Post
    This is the only one that I know of so far for the IMRC SD40-2.

    http://store.sbs4dcc.com/ESU54650Lok...nforPost-.aspx

    Cheers,
    Brian
    Hey Thanks Brian.
    I'm sorry, I should have been more clear in my question.
    I'm looking for a chip OTHER than an ESU.

    I have no issue mixing brands of chips, but the one IMRC SD40-2 I had, when I played with that chip, it seemed you needed to be a college grad to program and understand what all the damn CV's were.
    The Little Rock Line blog


    “Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience." George Carlin

  12. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    704
    Thanks
    229
    Thanked 252 Times in 151 Posts
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JennyC6 View Post
    I'll probably do is just buy the Conrail ones and spray over what's already there.
    Remember this is just the first run. IM might run an undec in the 3rd 4th run like they are with the SD40-2 line
    I support the Mike and Scotty pod cast...

  13. #31
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 21 Times in 13 Posts
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Allen H. View Post
    I'm looking for a chip OTHER than an ESU.

    I have no issue mixing brands of chips, but the one IMRC SD40-2 I had, when I played with that chip, it seemed you needed to be a college grad to program and understand what all the damn CV's were.
    I haven't run across another DCC board in my searches. And I have done very, very little in the way of programming on my DCC equipped SD40-2's. It was easy enough to re-map the rear lights to F3. Other than that, NOPE! I'm a college grad with a degree in computer science/business. You have to have a PhD to program these decoders IMHO. Luckily I know a PhD in comp sci.

  14. #32
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    385
    Thanks
    246
    Thanked 343 Times in 132 Posts
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bman View Post
    I haven't run across another DCC board in my searches. And I have done very, very little in the way of programming on my DCC equipped SD40-2's. It was easy enough to re-map the rear lights to F3. Other than that, NOPE! I'm a college grad with a degree in computer science/business. You have to have a PhD to program these decoders IMHO. Luckily I know a PhD in comp sci.
    Must be something different going on, then, because I've got a couple of LokPilot Micro V4s on my layout and they weren't all that hard to program to my liking. Hell, took me longer to get my SoundValue DD40AX set up just so than it did to get every LokPilot 4 I own set up just so!
    Welcome to the AHHR, where Steam and Diesel work together!


  15. #33
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    3,601
    Thanks
    4,284
    Thanked 5,457 Times in 1,884 Posts
    Mentioned
    94 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well good for you Jenny! Now we can all relax.

    Here's my issue, like I said I have not an issue mixing chip brands.
    I currently run Digitrax, TCS, few NCE's and some Atlas Dual Modes (which are only temporary until I get replacements).

    I for one am not a sound fan, yes I like the idea, but I'd rather run in silent mode. Just my choice and am not asking to be persuaded otherwise.
    I bought a few of the IMRC Deuces when the Rock Island versions were released, w/o sound. Figured I'd give the great ESU chips a try.
    When I got the units home I got them out and wanted to run one to get it broke in, but.......

    Could not get it to run very well. When I ramped up the throttle it acted as if the momentum was set to max. It slowly started to move.
    So I thought "Well let's reset the momentum to "0" so I get this thing up to speed and get broke in". The way it was it would just start to move, then stutter, then stop and then it would repeat itself. It just never had enough speed to overcome what was keeping it from running, maybe the blackening on the wheels? I don't know.

    So I started programming it, Great! There's the momentum, I set it to "0" and ............nothing, it still was just trying to crawl and then stutter. Did a little grumbling, did a little more programming, nothing.

    Then I found what I was looking for. It's called DELAY. This allows the prime mover sound to rev up before the motor starts to move it. I shut that little SOB off and viola! I have normal throttle control. I can see why this is designed that way. It is something that bothered me about sound all along, the loco moves and then the prime mover revs up, that's just dumb! That's not how they work in real life? I'm glad ESU figured this out.
    So I get it.
    But what I don't get is why I had to go in and mess with this in the first place because I don't have a sound equipped loco?
    Then I began to wonder what other happy crap I was going to have to wade through just to get my trains to runs as they do with normal DCC chips?

    Once I had this reset I was now ready to let the unit run and let it get broke in, or so I thought?
    Main problem that I was having, were the front trucks on all the units. Now understand! This is not a bitch post against IMRC, I was half expecting mechanical issues with the Deuces.

    For whatever the cause, the axles in each of the front trucks were not turning, period. This did not help with the slow increase in speed.
    So I may not have needed to rest whatever CV it was that I found to "0". needles to say the units got returned the next day! Problem solved and I moved forward.

    I have hit a plateau with my trains where I'm very comfortable and satisfied. I have no further need to make them run any different, no sound, no fancy lighting, none of that. I merely wish to go downstairs, turn on the layout and run my trains under typical DCC controls. To me it seems there are a lot of CV's packed into one little chip, more than I need for my trains as I enjoy them.

    So for me I'm wondering why another aftermarket company like Digi, TCS or any of them for that fact haven't produced a basic DCC chip for these units. I'm hoping like hell someone does.

    I have not given up on ESU or IMRC, as I have ordered a couple of the New GP10's W/DCC. I'll give it another try.
    The Little Rock Line blog


    “Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience." George Carlin

  16. #34
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    385
    Thanks
    246
    Thanked 343 Times in 132 Posts
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    That kinda ties into the fiddling I put into my DD40. As sold, Bachmann programmed it with auto notching, and the loco would move immediately based on the momentum setting while the software played catch-up on notching. I, like you, feel that's a bit silly and unrealistic. I've watched more than enough railfan vids on YT to know these things don't move worth a crap at curb idle and they have to notch up at least to 1 before they'll budge, so I went out and tweaked this, tuned that, factory reset the decoder at least once, until I managed to get it set up where it has manual notching enabled. And while I was in there, I enabled an interlock such that if the prime mover isn't running the loco will ignore speed steps, since when one gets manual notching enabled on those things it will still move when the PM is off.

    So, yah, I can feel ya on having to fiddle and tinker with sound decoders to get them to play nice. Even now, my DD40 will still move if I fail to notch it up any, but that's my fault for not notching it up before running the speed step knob around. And, happily, F8 mutes/unmutes sound, so it's NBD if I want to run silent for a while. Which is handy, and I'd expect a high end chip from ESU to have a function button mapped to mute as well.


    It seems as though Intermountain isn't using LokPilots in the non-sound locos, rather, they're simply omitting the speaker. None of my LokPilot 4 decoders have any sound related CVs or functionality in them. Wouldn't be surprised if you could add sound to your IMRC locos by just soldering a speaker into the circuit where it would have been from factory and mounting it in the fuel tank somewhere. After all, only logical reason for a non-sound decoder to have sound settings present at all, much less enabled, is if it's actually a sound decoder and just doesn't have a speaker.


    I have had to go rootin' around pretty deep inside the 1s and 0s of one of my LokPilot 4s. When I wired up my Rivarossi 0-8-0 I wired the motor in backards, and rather than tear the thing back apart I decided I'd just swap Normal Direction of Travel in software. And that worked. But that broke the headlight, apparently when I reversed the motor I also told the decoder to reverse which headlight was lit?! Spent about two hours fiddling around...keep in mind this was the first time I had ever programmed a decoder and the first time I had ever used DCC, so total newbie...and managed to remap the headlight to F8. Far easier to do that than it was to set up manual notching, prime mover interlock on my DD40. To do that I needed to use two seperate third party guides found on google, while remapping the headlight on that 0-8-0 was doable solely from the PDF ESU puts on their website. ESU's documentation is worlds better than Bachmann's. And I'm pretty sure this is why I can still move the DD40 when the PMs are at curb idle. That delay function you fought would be a godsend there, I think...hmm...might be something to float in the DCC subforum, see if anyone here knows that SoundValue decoder better than Google does...
    Welcome to the AHHR, where Steam and Diesel work together!


  17. The Following User Says Thank You to JennyC6 For This Useful Post:


  18. #35
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    704
    Thanks
    229
    Thanked 252 Times in 151 Posts
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I appreciate the further insight on N scale sound...... Well dang it, looks like jumping into the sound pool has opened up a new can of worms!


    I know I am quickly getting off subject, but will this cause glaring issues with a lash up of sound v non sound?

    I think I may start a new thread in the DCC section just to address speed matching/lashups and other unique qualities of sound...... Hmm i said address, is that a DCC pun?
    I support the Mike and Scotty pod cast...

  19. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Bessemer Bob For This Useful Post:


  20. #36
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Twin Cities, Minnesota
    Posts
    704
    Thanks
    144
    Thanked 1,130 Times in 355 Posts
    Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Personally, I always disable all of that prototypical start-up / slow-down behavior in my DCC-Sound locomotives (whether I'm running them with other non-sound locos or not). I just don't care for it.

    -Mark

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to Spookshow For This Useful Post:


Similar Threads

  1. IMRC SD40-2 detail parts question
    By Spookshow in forum Diesel
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd Jun 2017, 08:45 AM
  2. IC GP10 Frog Eyes
    By kalbert in forum Diesel
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th Feb 2016, 09:49 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th Mar 2015, 09:23 AM
  4. SD10 and GP10 Air Filters
    By kalbert in forum Product Announcements
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 7th Feb 2014, 10:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •