Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Wye?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Wye?

    What is the smallest radius used in a wye with 50 foot or less cars?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,206
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 311 Times in 92 Posts
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Get some flex track, test it out, and let us know. Trial and error is still a valid concept in model railroading.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO, US of A
    Posts
    1,011
    Thanks
    1,570
    Thanked 1,319 Times in 523 Posts
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It probably depends on how your engine handles tight radii. All of my stock can negotiate 9 3/4" radius, so long as there are no obstructions close to the track. And, in answer to the question in the title of your thread, "Wye not?"
    Cheers!
    Gordon
    Rheinland Bayern Bahn
    http://www.nscale.net/forums/showthr...4-x-9-5-layout

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Barnegat Light NJ
    Posts
    13,745
    Blog Entries
    15
    Thanks
    17,079
    Thanked 7,767 Times in 4,684 Posts
    Mentioned
    146 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    it also depends on the type of turnouts you use.
    I agree with @railohio
    Yours,

    Gene

    Turtle Creek Industrial RR

    Link to my Flickr account: https://www.flickr.com/photos/epumph/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    southeast michigan
    Posts
    759
    Thanks
    217
    Thanked 660 Times in 303 Posts
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Same, read the OP and wondered why a car matters instead of the engine. Do you have a scenario with a wye where the engine does not traverse it? Kickback track?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    10,330
    Thanks
    1,394
    Thanked 7,492 Times in 4,379 Posts
    Mentioned
    249 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    The brand of track you use will determine the radius you can create.

    The smallest wye would be built with Tomix Mini Fine Track 140mmR30° switches and 280mmR15° wye.

    Here's a 2'x4’ plan without the specialized wye switch...

    The 140mm radius is 5-1/2 inches. At one time Arnold/Rapido had 7” radius curves, so older equipment with truck mounted couplers will work fine. Body mounted couplers will cause the most problems.

    While such tight switches would only be found on street track. The train would be moving at a walking pace or slower serving a warehouse or industrial district. Super slow speeds reduce derailing problems. Long cars would not used in such an area. Switching locos would be used to move cars around. Steam locos will have the most problems, the 0-4-0 Docksider and small wheeled 0-6-0T were common in those areas. Most four axle diesels can negotiate the tight curves. Ones with truck mounted couplers would work even better.

    If you run steam era equipment, you'll notice those round dimples at the bottom of the ends. Those are polling pockets. In situations where the cars couldn't traverse when coupled. The cars were uncoupled, spread apart, then a brakeman placed a ten foot pole into the dimples. The pole stayed as the car was pushed into place. Eventually the practice was banned. Some steam tenders have the poll hanging from the frame ready to use.

    The 280mmR15° wye is a perfect match for the 280mmR30° right and left switches. The eleven inch radius offers few problems for most N scale equipment. This door size plan was designed around a turning wye...

    Here they are highlighted in yellow...


    Which brand of track do you plan to use?
    Use what you know about the world to model…
    Learn from modeling what you don't know about the real world.



  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    1,590
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    549
    Thanked 1,218 Times in 492 Posts
    Mentioned
    57 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Wye not? Sorry, couldn't refuse.

    There is a town in Wisconsin called Wyeville, where a wye existed for the C&NW and it's subsidiary, the Omaha Rd. No longer a true wye, it's where the UP mainline from Milwaukee splits to go either to Minneapolis or LaCrosse/Winona.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Glendive, Montana
    Posts
    1,251
    Thanks
    5,209
    Thanked 3,072 Times in 859 Posts
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Wyeville? Must be near Whoville? Not to derail the thread, tho.....
    Northern Pacific and Black Hills RR in N, of course!!
    Aian, CEO, COO, Engineer, Gopher and everything else!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •