Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: light bulb thingbob

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    fresno Calif USA
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 215 Times in 82 Posts
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default light bulb thingbob

    ok so ive got a power cab on order , so now i have 1 more queston. ive read over an over about a 1156 bulb put inline for a short detector fuse kinda thingy. do i need to put one in for my small layout. to protect the power cab or protect the engines electrical stuff. ive read the power cab has its own safety short fuse blocker thingy but it will go an go untill it fries its self . some info from all you well seasoned nce power cabers would be nice. eveything i read online involves a booster witch i do not plan on getting at all ( at least a loooong time ) the last thing i want to do is fry my power cab or any other parts for that matter. these things are expensive for lil ol me.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    331
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 271 Times in 148 Posts
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    What!?!?
    you don't want a light that tells you you are making a biiiiiig mistake?

    hohohohohohohohohohohohoohohohohoh

    the lamp is there as a warning. you can add a fuse also

    think of it as a way to illuminate the fuse that is about to blow.
    If the fuse blows and you never saw the lamp light... that is a a solid short circuit.

    I love over load lamps.
    they tell me ; "pay attention,your world is about to get dark."

    victor

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to victor miranda For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Barnegat Light NJ
    Posts
    13,745
    Blog Entries
    15
    Thanks
    17,079
    Thanked 7,767 Times in 4,684 Posts
    Mentioned
    146 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yours,

    Gene

    Turtle Creek Industrial RR

    Link to my Flickr account: https://www.flickr.com/photos/epumph/

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to epumph For This Useful Post:

    sid

  6. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    southeast michigan
    Posts
    759
    Thanks
    217
    Thanked 660 Times in 303 Posts
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Your Power Cab will cycle off when there is a short. To be specific, it reboots and cycles off again until the short is fixed or the power supply is unplugged. Rebooting resets the speed to zero and direction to forward but remembers the loco number.

    If there is a DCC system out there that does not protect itself, I wouldn't buy it.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to NtheBasement For This Useful Post:

    sid

  8. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    fresno Calif USA
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 215 Times in 82 Posts
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ive found some more updated reading . so im not gunna do this light bulb thing. apparently it wont matter . there is so much good bad an ugly reading out there its hard to find the right answer. oh boy i cant hardly wait till this thing gets here. im a kid waiting on christmas. hahahahahahahahahah id like to thank you all for your imputs. i welcome all good or bad. after all this is how we learn, RIGHT? hahahahaha ive got a decoder ordered for my u25c im afraid my lil gp40 will have to go to ebay so i can get a loco with sound too.

  9. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Tinton Falls, NJ
    Posts
    2,235
    Blog Entries
    3
    Thanks
    769
    Thanked 1,236 Times in 815 Posts
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Looks at this if you haven't already. Just remember the 1156's are a current limiter not a true circuit breaker but it is better than nothing
    http://www.members.optusnet.com.au/nswmn/1156.htm
    "It's not whats best......It's whats best for you"

    Gary

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to ike8120 For This Useful Post:

    sid

  11. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    fresno Calif USA
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 215 Times in 82 Posts
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks You Gary. ive read this one already too. cant remember where i found that updated article , but in really enlightened me about why i dont need one. It was extremely detailed (a lil bit beyond my brain) but it did enlighten me about all this. me thinks it would be better if one was gunna use something , would be to just put a 1 amp or .5 amp fuse inline maybe a 1.5 . . any who the system should be able to protect its self as long as i pay attention to details.
    Thanks

  12. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    331
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 271 Times in 148 Posts
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    hmmmm.
    I am a big believer in smoke tests and trials by fire and using transistor as fuses to protect resistors....

    however, If you are such a person, be prepared. have a fan to evacuate the smoke and a big abc rated extinguisher and more transistors.

    the light bulb it not much of a safety I grant you that.
    It is a good and inexpensive way to see you may have a problem.
    when you get it to act as a safety device like a fuse.... on man... you have truly screwed up.

    again I agree it is not needed. that said, it is a good idea if you want a confirmation all is as it should be.

    victor

  13. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Barnegat Light NJ
    Posts
    13,745
    Blog Entries
    15
    Thanks
    17,079
    Thanked 7,767 Times in 4,684 Posts
    Mentioned
    146 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    it will also show the relative position of the short, assuming you have several power zones or districts.
    Yours,

    Gene

    Turtle Creek Industrial RR

    Link to my Flickr account: https://www.flickr.com/photos/epumph/

  14. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    16,745
    Blog Entries
    16
    Thanks
    4,614
    Thanked 12,790 Times in 5,355 Posts
    Mentioned
    222 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Meh. I wouldn't bother. I would much prefer something that is actually going to open the circuit in case of a short... which is precisely what the Power Cab will do. With a layout large enough to justify power (sub)districts, again, I'd rather have actual breakers and would spring for a PM42 or a PSX-4, even at the higher cost. Maybe it's fine to just current-limit, but I feel better with an open circuit. It's worth my peace of mind.

    On my personal layout, I have a Digitrax booster feeding a PM42 powering four districts (mainline, branch line, yard, and staging). The PM42 has LEDs to indicate power status, and also reports over LocoNet to JMRI. It's usually pretty obvious where the problem is anyway.

    An interesting side item that I unfortunately have personal experience with... the instructions for the Digitrax Super Zephyr (DCS51) specifically say NOT to turn off the track power when there is a short. Rather, to leave the DCS51 track power on, let its breaker do its job, and locate and correct the fault with the track power ON. Why? I'm not exactly sure, but turning the track power off while in a fault condition will damage the booster outputs. I took advantage of Digitrax's "No Questions Asked" warranty TWICE because of this issue before I realized what I was doing wrong.
    Never mistake a guy who talks a lot for a guy who has something to say...

    CH&FR Site and Blog: http://www.chfrrailroad.net and http://blog.chfrrailroad.net
    Appalachian Railroad Technology: http://www.apprailtech.com


  15. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to TwinDad For This Useful Post:


Similar Threads

  1. Light bulb replacement
    By woodone in forum Steam
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th Apr 2016, 11:25 PM
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 27th Oct 2015, 03:36 AM
  3. Light
    By zosimas in forum Steam
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15th Apr 2013, 08:59 AM
  4. How many forum members does it take to change a light bulb?
    By BryanC (RIP) in forum General Rail Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 6th Mar 2007, 01:50 AM
  5. Replacing headlight bulb - need help
    By ejsneonss in forum Steam
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th May 2006, 10:45 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •