Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Cannot rest ESU decoder

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Palo Alto, CA
    Posts
    265
    Thanks
    266
    Thanked 287 Times in 112 Posts
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Cannot rest ESU decoder

    Cannot reset ESU decoder.

    I just received a Kato UP E9B unit with pre-installed ESU decoder (no sound). I tried to change the address from the default 3 to a 4 digit address and to set a consist address using Decoder Pro. Now the engine only runs on the consist address, not the 4 digit address (which reads back correctly) and I have tried to reset the decoder by changing CV8 to 8. When I try this, I get a Fail message on my throttle (Digitrax) and on Decoder Pro it won’t let me change the entry for CV 8 (whereas I can for all the other CVs). Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    980
    Thanks
    1,019
    Thanked 998 Times in 489 Posts
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I think - I'm not at home right now so can't check - there is a "Reset Decoder" button somewhere in DecoderPro that does just that (write 8 to CV8) in the background. You can't write to the CV normally because it does not change it's value. Maybe that also explains why the Digitrax system can't change it. And/or maybe it can only be changed in certain programming modes, particularly I could imagine that it does not work in Programming on the Main/OPS mode programming but only on the programming track to avoid some runaway DCC system resetting all locos on the layout.

    Another idea: Change the consist address back to 0 (or to 128) which disables consist mode and you should be able to run it with it's 4 digit address again. Both are mutually exclusive, you can't have the loco respond to both the 4-digit address and the consist address at the same time.*

    HTH,
    Heiko

    *To be precise, many decoders have CVs to choose whether functions should respond to the consist address or the base address, so the above is only true for motor control.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Heiko For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Tinton Falls, NJ
    Posts
    2,235
    Blog Entries
    3
    Thanks
    769
    Thanked 1,236 Times in 815 Posts
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    "It's not whats best......It's whats best for you"

    Gary

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to ike8120 For This Useful Post:


  6. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    2,764
    Thanks
    1,147
    Thanked 3,606 Times in 1,206 Posts
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    I had lots of little issues programming ESU decoders until I got the ESU LokProgrammer. DecoderPro doesn’t read and write everything well enough for my tastes. It caused more issues than it fixed. Do you know someone with a LokProgrammer you can try out?
    Karl

    CEO of the Skally Line, an Eastern MN Shortline

  7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jpwisc For This Useful Post:


Similar Threads

  1. JMRI - CTI and the rest of the alphabet if need be.
    By MystRacing in forum General Wiring
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th Feb 2013, 04:49 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 8th Aug 2012, 05:50 AM
  3. Cleaning Track after summer rest
    By aroc in forum Trackage
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th Sep 2009, 05:31 PM
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 23rd Apr 2006, 11:23 PM
  5. Atlas Switches need to rest?
    By bikerraypa in forum General Wiring
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th Feb 2006, 01:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •