Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re:How to run 2 trains at once?

You have two options.

1. Run DCC (best solution)

2. You can make them two different tracks and run them off different controllers. You have to be careful with this, but if you pay attention you will be okay.

I am building mine now, but I am just doing a different switches for different blocks (electrically independant sections of track). The sections will not be able to have different speed (voltage), but it will give me the ability to run different directions or turn off a section of track.

Running DCC would be the best solution. That is the way I would like to go in the future.

Jason
    <hr>
    Need to choose an time/place to model and I am still learning
    but I have an idea, just need to find it.

Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

DCC? what do i have to do for that?

Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

DCC Is Digital Command Control. You have to have a controller or encoder and every Locomotive or anything else you want to controll (lights, signals, etc) will have to have a decoder. That is the simple answer, there is a power pack/multiplexer, but basically the decoder tell the locomotive how fast and which way to go. Now the locomotives have to be DCC ready and have a DCC decoder. There is a DCC section here, you might want to hunt through there.

http://www.dcctrain.com/

Also do a google search for DCC model train

Hope this helps.
    <hr>

Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

so the only other way is two separate tracks that dont touch each other at all, and 2 different controllers? can i connect both tracks with switches or will that short out?

Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)