PDA

View Full Version : Rail cutting tool - is it worth it?

coffeeman
11th Jan 2011, 09:00 PM
I've read that a few of you prefer the specific rail cutting tool over other cutters so I'm curious what's the difference?

Is it truely worth the $17 when I have my Mastercraft cutter in my toolbox?

REM37411
11th Jan 2011, 09:07 PM
Yes, it is. I am not familiar with a mastercraft cutter but the rail nippers we talk about provide a flat cut on the back side. This allows you to butt tracks up without a "bump" or other irregularity.

Oh, and I love your avatar!

TwinDad
11th Jan 2011, 09:11 PM
I've been using a pair of heavy duty wire cutters, specifically these guys (http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_00945084000P?prdNo=4&blockNo=4&blockType=G4). I'm about to pull the trigger on the rail nippers. The wire cutters do "okay", but I frequently have to dress the rail ends with a file to get them so the rail joiners will slide on. Even then, it doesn't look so good.

My daddy taught me that while you can "overkill" something, and sometimes you have to make do with what you have, there's nothing more valuable than the right tool for the job. From what I can tell, a reasonably priced pair of rail nippers are "the right tool for the job".

Oh, and ModelTrainStuff has them for $10 (http://www.modeltrainstuff.com/product-p/791-2175b.htm) (plus S/H).

ScottL
11th Jan 2011, 09:15 PM
I am a recent devotee of the rail nippers. Clean, easy cuts- well worth the modest cost. I keep the Mastercraft tools for bigger jobs.

Sherman
11th Jan 2011, 09:16 PM
Absolutely worth it. I wasn't sure as I was using wire cutters like TD and really, how much better could they be? The guy at the LHS made me an offer- buy it, try it- if I didn't think it was worth the $17 bring it back no questions asked. They are still in my toolbox. Some things are just worth it and the rail nippers are one of those things.

--Sherman

musicman
11th Jan 2011, 10:13 PM