Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bachmann 0-6-0 Switcher DCC conversion. A complete how-too (pic heavy)

Thanks
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Lightbulb Bachmann 0-6-0 Switcher DCC conversion. A complete how-too (pic heavy)

Hiya Folks,

The purpose of this post is to provide a complete step-by-step guide to converting the Bachmann 0-6-0 Switcher to DCC. It is written with a complete newbie in mind so if it feels a little condescending, that’s not the intention! :-P

So let’s look at what we get straight out of the box;

The 0-6-0 Switcher is based on a USRA design during the 1st World War. Although adequate for the time, the 0-6-0 soon began to be replaced by the larger and more powerful 0-8-0 however they still saw service right up until the last days of steam, usually on small branch lines and in small yards. This is great for us modellers as it means that we can use them up until the late 40’ and early 50’s with ease.

As far as the model goes it is fairly basic but certainly modern. It has a split frame chassis, 2 wheel pick up and tender pick-up on the front trucks, all pick-up is done via a split-axel system; Detail is ok but what did you expect for this price? The downside of being such a small and reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeelly cheap model is that the motor sticks out the back of the cabin like it’s about to fall out. Certainly there are smaller motors out there but that would add to the price and as it is, you get a hell of a train for $35 because this thing runs well and can tug quite a bit for its size.

“Enough blabber! On with the conversion!” I hear you say........fair enough, here we go! :-P

Step 1)
    The first step is to remove the tender from the loco. This can be achieved flipping the train and turning the tender 90 degrees to the loco and lifting, it should just come right off. (Pics 1 & 2)

Step 2)