Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 33

Thread: ModelTrains3 Inventory software

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    1,082
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    1,267
    Thanked 4,713 Times in 722 Posts
    Mentioned
    79 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default ModelTrains3 Inventory software

    I finally feel pretty good about the state of the ModelTrains inventory database I've been working on. Using it for doing my own inventory has helped me smooth out some rough edges. Prompted by kirkdog, I am releasing it to any of you folks that are interested in trying it.

    This database was built in FileMaker Pro 12, and will run on a Mac or PC with FileMaker Pro installed, but it was really designed for FileMaker Go 12, FileMaker's free database app for iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad. If you are using an iPhone, iPod Touch, or iPad (with iOS 5.1 or later), install FileMaker Go for 12 first, then you can download the ModelTrains3 file on to your device, and it will open in FileMaker Go. Here's the inventory database file:

    ModelTrains3 (4.1 MB)

    Features:
    • Free!
    • Take and keep multiple photos directly within the inventory record
    • Search by Model Type, Brand, Road Name, Reporting Marks, and/or Condition
    • Sort and group by Model Type, Brand, and Road Name
    • Auto-entry of road names from the reporting marks
    • Value lists for commonly used choices on many fields
    • Import & Export to a variety of formats

    In addition, with the desktop version of FileMaker Pro 12:
    • Customizable layouts and scripts
    • More auto-entry shortcuts when entering data
    • You can host your file on your network and access it with your iOS device
    • You can host your file with Instant Web Publishing, and allow guests to connect over the Internet to see specific records (view only).

    What it looks like:


    It's pretty simple to use; the file opens as a list of all your items. Counts are subtotaled and totaled on the side. The list includes thumbnail photos by default, with some basic information about the models. You simply tap (or click) on a record to open the detail view.

    The detail view shows a list of fields that I wanted to track for my own inventory, so they may work for yours. Most of the fields have value lists attached to make data-entry faster. When you want to take a photo of your model, you just click in the photo field, then tell it to use the camera (you could also insert a photo already in your camera roll.) It also tracks basic info about DC & DCC for locomotives.

    In the Prefs, you can customize the value lists for Brand and Model Type, and customize the lookups for the Road Name based on Reporting Marks entered.

    There are a few sample records in there so you can see how it works. Go ahead and delete those to start fresh.

    I've enjoyed building this, hopefully some of you will find it useful too. Let me know if you come across any bugs or feature requests.

  2. The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to Ender For This Useful Post:


  3. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Zombie Hill, Vermont
    Posts
    5,895
    Blog Entries
    42
    Thanks
    9,721
    Thanked 9,775 Times in 2,780 Posts
    Mentioned
    129 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You are awesome, I know what I'll be doing next !

    Now if the download would work.
    ~ Charles

    :shay:

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to zosimas For This Useful Post:


  5. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Saginaw,TX USA
    Posts
    164
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 154 Times in 80 Posts
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    So I can't run in on my Mac Pro without buying Filemaker 12? Bummer. Back to Excel.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to reinhardtjh For This Useful Post:


  7. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    State College, PA USA
    Posts
    229
    Blog Entries
    8
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 132 Times in 62 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    works great...Thanks again. I sent you a few pms also. Much appreciated!!!!
    Maybe someday I will lay some track to run all of these trains I have.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to kirtdog For This Useful Post:


  9. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Delray Beach, Florida, USA - Ex Busselton, Western Australia
    Posts
    7,026
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    1,907
    Thanked 3,625 Times in 1,253 Posts
    Mentioned
    152 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    PM me, and we'll get this into the Downloads section.
    Bryan
    “Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.” ~ Leonardo da Vinci (1452–1519)

  10. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Bryan For This Useful Post:


  11. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Zombienation
    Posts
    3,447
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    9,324
    Thanked 5,050 Times in 1,710 Posts
    Mentioned
    59 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    BAM!!!! Nice. I will be using this for sure. I have grown very attached to my iPod touch and my wifes iPad. Very cool!
    ~Sean


    I HEART KATO!
    Good look with your project and remember most here saying they'll buy are blogging from daddy's basement
    - Signed, an idiot

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to YellowBeard For This Useful Post:


  13. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Zombie Hill, Vermont
    Posts
    5,895
    Blog Entries
    42
    Thanks
    9,721
    Thanked 9,775 Times in 2,780 Posts
    Mentioned
    129 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by YellowBeard View Post
    my wifes iPad.
    She LET's you touch it!? My wife says I can use it when I pry it out of her cold dead hands, lol.
    ~ Charles

    :shay:

  14. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    16,796
    Blog Entries
    16
    Thanks
    4,634
    Thanked 12,921 Times in 5,378 Posts
    Mentioned
    245 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Aah. There we go. Couldn't download it to my iPhone in Chrome, had to switch back to Safari. But I got it now.

    As much as I don't want to have... let's see... FOUR different copies of my roster, I think this will be interesting to use, so I'll definitely give it a try.

    I especially like the idea of being able to check what I have on the fly when shopping. I'm starting to get enough cars in the yard that I can't necessarily remember all of them by road number.
    Never mistake a guy who talks a lot for a guy who has something to say...

    CH&FR Site and Blog: http://www.chfrrailroad.net and http://blog.chfrrailroad.net
    Appalachian Railroad Technology: http://www.apprailtech.com


  15. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TwinDad For This Useful Post:


  16. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Xenia, Ohio
    Posts
    3,871
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    1,538
    Thanked 1,897 Times in 1,023 Posts
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Our evil kids gave us an iPad for Christmas to share. That didn't work out well, it seems I was using it all the time, they got a second iPad for my wife...

    Of course I'm still not allowed to touch my wife's Kindle.....
    My favorite computer game is "Stump The Spellchecker"...
    https://www.nscale.net/forums/images/Flags/USA/Ohio.png

  17. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Zombie Hill, Vermont
    Posts
    5,895
    Blog Entries
    42
    Thanks
    9,721
    Thanked 9,775 Times in 2,780 Posts
    Mentioned
    129 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TwinDad View Post
    Couldn't download it to my iPhone in Chrome, had to switch back to Safari. But I got it now.
    :doh: you mean there's something besides chrome?

    It worked, downloaded and opened. Now why didn't I think of that? Thanks TD.
    ~ Charles

    :shay:

  18. The Following User Says Thank You to zosimas For This Useful Post:


  19. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    16,796
    Blog Entries
    16
    Thanks
    4,634
    Thanked 12,921 Times in 5,378 Posts
    Mentioned
    245 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zosimas View Post
    you mean there's something besides chrome? https://www.nscale.net/forums/mysmili...smilie_369.gif

    It worked, downloaded and opened. Now why didn't I think of that? Thanks TD.
    LOL. yeah, it only took me ALL DAY to remember "oh yeah, there's another browser on this phone!"

    (despite the fact that I have at least four of them installed right now)
    Never mistake a guy who talks a lot for a guy who has something to say...

    CH&FR Site and Blog: http://www.chfrrailroad.net and http://blog.chfrrailroad.net
    Appalachian Railroad Technology: http://www.apprailtech.com


  20. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    1,082
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    1,267
    Thanked 4,713 Times in 722 Posts
    Mentioned
    79 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ahh, I didn't test it in Chrome. Thank you beta testers! Let me know of any other bugs.

    TwinDad, if your current inventory list has got fields across in the columns, and records in rows (like in a spreadsheet,) you should be able to import the existing records into this file. In order to do this on the iDevice, you have to move your existing data file to the iDevice. I think there's multiple ways to do this, but I'd suggest using iTunes to transfer the file to the synced device. This can be done in the File Sharing section of the Apps tab in iTunes on your computer. Just select FileMaker Go and Add your data file to the device.

    Once the data file is on the iDevice, you can import records into the ModelTrains3 file with the Import Records script. To get at the scripts, hit the gear in the upper right corner, then one of the options is to "Perform Script". I've got a script in there to Import Records, and to Export Found Set. You will need to decide which fields go where (hopefully I've named things so you can guess which fields are what.) If you don't like how it imported, you can delete the found set of records by turning on the Status Bar, and hitting the +/- button.

    Edit:
    D'oh! Just discovered that currently, Import Records on iOS is only supported from FileMaker file to FileMaker file. You would have to use FileMaker Pro on the computer to get existing Excel records into the ModelTrains3 file. Sorry about that.

    I'll research if there's another way.
    Last edited by Ender; 27th Sep 2012 at 08:55 PM. Reason: Removed hokum.

  21. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    1,082
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    1,267
    Thanked 4,713 Times in 722 Posts
    Mentioned
    79 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by reinhardtjh View Post
    So I can't run in on my Mac Pro without buying Filemaker 12? Bummer. Back to Excel.
    Lucky for you I have a "runtime" version, which is a stand-alone version that does not require FileMaker Pro to be installed. It functions just like it would with FileMaker Pro, but it is restricted to single user only (no network capability) and this version does not work on iOS. You would also not be able to edit scripts or layouts. Oh yeah, and it's an 80 MB download.

    If you want to give it a try, you can download the Mac runtime version here:

    ModelTrainsRTM (80 MB)

    I don't yet have a Windows runtime version compiled.

    Oh, if you're using this on a computer, don't be afraid to expand the window so you can see more!

  22. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Ender For This Useful Post:


  23. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Saginaw,TX USA
    Posts
    164
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 154 Times in 80 Posts
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Icon12

    Quote Originally Posted by Ender View Post
    Lucky for you I have a "runtime" version, which is a stand-alone version that does not require FileMaker Pro to be installed. It functions just like it would with FileMaker Pro, but it is restricted to single user only (no network capability) and this version does not work on iOS. You would also not be able to edit scripts or layouts. Oh yeah, and it's an 80 MB download.

    If you want to give it a try, you can download the Mac runtime version here:

    ModelTrainsRTM (80 MB)

    I don't yet have a Windows runtime version compiled.

    Oh, if you're using this on a computer, don't be afraid to expand the window so you can see more!
    Thanks! I'm an old time computer user and was wondering why nobody had run-time versions of their software any more. Size doesn't bother me, I've got TB available on this system.

    Can the iOS version edit the layouts and scripts? Or is that reserved for the full version on a computer (i.e. developers).

    No iPhone, iPad or iTouch here. I have an iPod but it's the Shuffle. Plenty of Mac Minis and iMacs though.

    John H. Reinhardt

  24. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    1,082
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    1,267
    Thanked 4,713 Times in 722 Posts
    Mentioned
    79 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Editing of layouts and scripts (and all design functions) is not supported in FileMaker Go. You would need FileMaker Pro for this.

  25. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    State College, PA USA
    Posts
    229
    Blog Entries
    8
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 132 Times in 62 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    how did you make the reporting mark field automatically pull data from the list of road names?
    Maybe someday I will lay some track to run all of these trains I have.

  26. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    1,082
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    1,267
    Thanked 4,713 Times in 722 Posts
    Mentioned
    79 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kirtdog View Post
    how did you make the reporting mark field automatically pull data from the list of road names?
    That's a lookup from the Road Names table. If you have one that's out of date for your era, or you need to add one, go into the Prefs, then tap on Road Names. There you can edit, add, and delete entries. There's some 3800 records in there, so it may help to turn on the status bar to get a records slider for faster navigation.

  27. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Zombie Hill, Vermont
    Posts
    5,895
    Blog Entries
    42
    Thanks
    9,721
    Thanked 9,775 Times in 2,780 Posts
    Mentioned
    129 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Any new updates?

    my db is growing :m:
    ~ Charles

    :shay:

  28. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sanford ME USA
    Posts
    2,567
    Blog Entries
    9
    Thanks
    1,821
    Thanked 2,899 Times in 817 Posts
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You may have answered this question but, I didn't see the answer (well maybe I suspected it but, I need to be sure!).... if I download this to my iPad, when it asks for a photo, can I use the built in camera in the iPad?
    Dick,

    Usually, when all is said and done, there's a lot more said than done!

  29. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Zombie Hill, Vermont
    Posts
    5,895
    Blog Entries
    42
    Thanks
    9,721
    Thanked 9,775 Times in 2,780 Posts
    Mentioned
    129 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by absnut View Post
    You may have answered this question but, I didn't see the answer (well maybe I suspected it but, I need to be sure!).... if I download this to my iPad, when it asks for a photo, can I use the built in camera in the iPad?
    yup, easy as pie... but I prefer editing and cropping mine. (I dunno why pie is easy, whether baking or in math pie is not easy)
    ~ Charles

    :shay:

Similar Threads

  1. Easy Model Railroad Inventory
    By Chessack in forum Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th Mar 2012, 06:31 PM
  2. Replies: 26
    Last Post: 24th May 2011, 08:22 PM
  3. Inventory Software
    By GNFA310 in forum General Rail Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21st Apr 2008, 05:41 PM
  4. Model Train Inventory Software
    By bikerraypa in forum General Rail Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 13th Jan 2007, 01:20 PM
  5. Yard Office Railroad Inventory
    By 69Z28 in forum General Rail Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18th Dec 2006, 12:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •