Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default New to N scale - trying to find locomotives

Hello all,

I am new to N scale and I'm trying to find out how the diesel manufacturer market works. Coming from HO scale, there were a lot of options readily available, but this doesn't appear to be the case for N. Most of the manufacturers (Atlas, Athearn) seem to be "out of stock" on their websites. There are several locomotives in particular paint schemes I'd like to get, but finding them is a challenge.

Do Atlas, etc only make limited batches at certain times? Or do they produce products with the idea they are only limited time offerings? I don't plan on amassing a huge fleet, but it would be nice to pick up a locomotive or two that I find interesting. I was mainly looking for Chessie System diesels like the GP9, 30, 35, 38, 40, or maybe an SD40 or 50. '

Any help or insight is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Chuck

Thanks
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I shop at nscalesupply.com. They have good stock. Atlas always changes roadnames every so often.
    " Its a whatle?!I think, a Diseaseal!" Bill and Ben, Thomas and Friends

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to CSXT For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

If your looking at Atlas and Athearn websites, then its not surprising that your finding things "out-of-stock". This is because many manufacturers of n scale loco's were thrown for a loop when their chinese contract manufacturer stopped producing for them. Those 2 companies were particularly impacted.

But if you check some of the retailer web sites like Trainworld, blwnscale, mbklein, etc.. you should find some chessi system loco's. I did a quick search and found gp 30, 35, and u23b all in chessie system schemes available. You may also find some of these at your local well stocked train dealer.