Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Thanked 8,117 Times in 4,853 Posts
    Mentioned
    167 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

Default Need Help with ALL aspects of Making Videos

I couldn't find a place for this mainly because it is so vast in its coverage!

I tried to make a video of some switching moves on my layout. I was working solo - camera man, engineer and brakeman. I tried to use a tripod but that proved to be a mistake. I got some fair footage (inchage?) but mostly my foot, my arm, the structures on the layout and an occasional glimpse of the work I wanted to video.

So, I need help in making the video then editing it and finally uploading to You Tube.

I am using my Sony DCS 750 point and shot camera.

Any help would be really appreciated,
    Yours,

Gene

Turtle Creek Industrial RR

Link to my Flickr account: https://www.flickr.com/photos/epumph/

Thanks
    Thanked 4,865 Times in 1,455 Posts
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Gene,
    I'm not a video pro (or amateur, or even novice...) by any means, but maybe I can offer a few tidbits that might serve as building blocks to work from... I don't do much video, and everytime I make one I have to relearn a lot of the stuff that I figured out the previous time. But anyway... do you have any idea what software you would use to edit it? I don't know if you're on a Mac or a PC but I'm assuming if you have anything fairly recent it has something onboard that you can edit with.
    If you're doing switching, and you're solo... I think the tripod has to be part of the process. I have no idea what the physical configuration of your area is, but if you're switching... and filming... you only have 2 arms. Even if you had 5 arms I would still use a tripod.