Thread: Bachmann TGV Set -- Just what I need, another project loco

Thanks
    Thanked 2,473 Times in 713 Posts
    Mentioned
    68 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Bachmann TGV Set -- Just what I need, another project loco

Ok so my kids love high-speed trains and most are far too expensive so I just picked up a Bachmann TGV set that needs lots of work... Anyway, figured I would post my journey.

I have had some luck fixing Bachmann split gears but I am still learning and I have a fair number of Bachmann trolleys and F#/GP40/50's to salvage parts from (also some passenger cars). from what I can tell this set uses powered truck similar or the same as the F#/GP40/50's and the non-powered units seem to use similar setup to the Bachmann Amtrak Passenger cars I have (i.e., long springs with all-wheel pickup and plastic insulating wheel cuffs).

Here is the initial picture from the Ebay listing (figure you guys can use a chuckle on a Monday morning):

Bachmann TGV.jpg

p.s., I emailed the seller asking if the other powered truck happened to be somewhere and he indicated yes it was just off to the side when he took the picture so he would include it. So problem #1 solved

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mac For This Useful Post:

Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

I know someone on here had a set like this for sale recently and had replaced the geared wheels with ones from a trolly, I'll be doing the same once I get a set. If you need any reference pictures let me know, I have no problem with pulling mine apart.
    Tim

Shoot for the stars, anything less and your selling yourself short...

B&LE SD18 project
    B&LE 200: The Merry Widow
    B&LE SD38AC build
    D&H #17 project
    Resin T-1 build

4. The Following User Says Thank You to Celidude For This Useful Post:

Mac

Thanks
    Mentioned
    68 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)