Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 27

Thread: LNWI

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    17,061
    Blog Entries
    16
    Thanks
    4,764
    Thanked 13,686 Times in 5,594 Posts
    Mentioned
    264 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default LNWI

    I was asked by my NMRA Division to do a clinic on the new Digitrax LNWI LocoNet WiFi Interface, so I borrowed one to do an evaluation... and why not do a quick video too?



    The LNWI works by creating a local, stand-alone WiFi network and providing a WiThrottle-compatible server for use with WiThrottle (iPhone) or EngineDriver (Android) or compatible smart phone app. Each LNWI can handle up to 4 phones, and you can have up to 8 LNWIs on a LocoNet network. Also, each LNWI can handle up to 32 LocoNet throttles (so, like 8 per phone, or 31 on one phone and 1 on a second phone, etc.). The total throttles on the LocoNet is still limited by your command station, of course.

    Out of the box there's no configuration required. Just plug it in to power and LocoNet, and it's ready for the phones to connect to. There's an OpSwitch that will enable WPA2 security with a (fixed) password, for more public situations. It's still not terribly secure, though, because it appears the password cannot be changed the password can be customized, along with several other parameters.

    So far I'm pretty impressed, though I've only messed with it for a few minutes. In a couple of weeks, I'll be operating on a friend's large HO layout with a bunch of other guys. I'm going to bring the LNWI with me and hook it up to his system. I'll get a better feel for how it works on a large layout with lots of other operators.

    Another friend has the MRC equivalent product... he's had some significant problems actually using it on several occasions. I'll be really curious to see if Digitrax was able to create a more stable product...
    Last edited by TwinDad; 10th Nov 2017 at 10:03 AM.
    Never mistake a guy who talks a lot for a guy who has something to say...

    CH&FR Site and Blog: http://www.chfrrailroad.net and http://blog.chfrrailroad.net
    Appalachian Railroad Technology: http://www.apprailtech.com


  2. The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to TwinDad For This Useful Post:


  3. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Zombietopia, Washington
    Posts
    7,006
    Thanks
    24,600
    Thanked 17,504 Times in 4,868 Posts
    Mentioned
    663 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thank you TD for most excellent review ... Moose going to order one! Errr, as soon as CFO (Mrs Moose) look other way...
    = >

    ~ Moose (Co-founder of the Mt. Tahoma & Pacific Railroad, located some where in the Pacific Northwest)


    "Beware the Train of Thought that Carries no Freight..." "Reading is for morons who can't understand pictures..."

    Click Here to See Moose's Layout Thread

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Zombie Hill, Vermont
    Posts
    5,932
    Blog Entries
    42
    Thanks
    9,778
    Thanked 9,940 Times in 2,812 Posts
    Mentioned
    136 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    tempting indeed :d2:
    ~ Charles

    :shay:

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    1,611
    Thanks
    7,074
    Thanked 2,270 Times in 987 Posts
    Mentioned
    104 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You can change the password and a host of other things.

    http://www.digitrax.com/tsd/KB1053/l...anced-options/

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    1,945
    Thanks
    1,650
    Thanked 6,611 Times in 1,240 Posts
    Mentioned
    47 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Oh no ... more things to buy I don't really need.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    17,061
    Blog Entries
    16
    Thanks
    4,764
    Thanked 13,686 Times in 5,594 Posts
    Mentioned
    264 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kingmeow View Post
    You can change the password and a host of other things.

    http://www.digitrax.com/tsd/KB1053/l...anced-options/
    Ah. Thanks for the correction. I missed that.
    Never mistake a guy who talks a lot for a guy who has something to say...

    CH&FR Site and Blog: http://www.chfrrailroad.net and http://blog.chfrrailroad.net
    Appalachian Railroad Technology: http://www.apprailtech.com


  8. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Barnegat Light NJ
    Posts
    14,019
    Blog Entries
    15
    Thanks
    18,074
    Thanked 8,115 Times in 4,853 Posts
    Mentioned
    167 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TwinDad View Post
    Another friend has the MRC equivalent product... he's had some significant problems actually using it on several occasions.
    so running NCE power cab I shouldn't run out and buy one?
    Yours,

    Gene

    Turtle Creek Industrial RR

    Link to my Flickr account: https://www.flickr.com/photos/epumph/

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Oklahoma, USA
    Posts
    473
    Thanks
    451
    Thanked 1,205 Times in 299 Posts
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I've only briefly worked with mine. Did find it a little odd to change the various op switches for determining security, etc. - I have a Zephyr Xtra and PR3. To change the op switches, I ended up having to change them through the switch command on the Zephyr and then set specifics (SSID, etc.) through Digitrax' DigiGroupSetup. Not really one-stop setup but it worked.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Lake Ariel PA
    Posts
    777
    Thanks
    1,228
    Thanked 447 Times in 347 Posts
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Just ordered one from Fifer. I will get the App when the unit comes. Looks simple (good for me!)
    Thanks for the video.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    17,061
    Blog Entries
    16
    Thanks
    4,764
    Thanked 13,686 Times in 5,594 Posts
    Mentioned
    264 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by epumph View Post
    so running NCE power cab I shouldn't run out and buy one?
    As far as I know, no, NCE does not have an equivalent device. You're "stuck" with JMRI
    Never mistake a guy who talks a lot for a guy who has something to say...

    CH&FR Site and Blog: http://www.chfrrailroad.net and http://blog.chfrrailroad.net
    Appalachian Railroad Technology: http://www.apprailtech.com


  12. The Following User Says Thank You to TwinDad For This Useful Post:


  13. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Zombie Hill, Vermont
    Posts
    5,932
    Blog Entries
    42
    Thanks
    9,778
    Thanked 9,940 Times in 2,812 Posts
    Mentioned
    136 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    While it looks like a nice item, I can't justify $80 to purchase one (yet )

    The nice thing about it however is I would no longer have to disable my computer firewall to let withrottle through to JMRI :grrr:
    ~ Charles

    :shay:

  14. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Zombietopia, Washington
    Posts
    7,006
    Thanks
    24,600
    Thanked 17,504 Times in 4,868 Posts
    Mentioned
    663 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zosimas View Post
    While it looks like a nice item, I can't justify $80 to purchase one (yet )
    That's true ... You need to save up for some locomotives!
    = >

    ~ Moose (Co-founder of the Mt. Tahoma & Pacific Railroad, located some where in the Pacific Northwest)


    "Beware the Train of Thought that Carries no Freight..." "Reading is for morons who can't understand pictures..."

    Click Here to See Moose's Layout Thread

  15. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Zombie Hill, Vermont
    Posts
    5,932
    Blog Entries
    42
    Thanks
    9,778
    Thanked 9,940 Times in 2,812 Posts
    Mentioned
    136 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Moose2013 View Post
    That's true ... You need to save up for some locomotives!
    With Christmas coming I decided I should probably spend money on other people....
    ~ Charles

    :shay:

  16. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 39 Times in 13 Posts
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hadn't considered the guest wifi password conundrum when having people to run trains using home network. Also my home wifi password is almost 20 characters long...
    Perhaps this isn't a bad idea, especially considering the low price point. Great video, appreciate the review!
    Starting a Free-moN division in the Philadelphia metro area. Get in touch if you're interested!
    Mid-Atlantic Free-moN Discussion Thread || Facebook: Mid-Atlantic Free-moN | Instagram: midatlanticfreemon

  17. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    17,061
    Blog Entries
    16
    Thanks
    4,764
    Thanked 13,686 Times in 5,594 Posts
    Mentioned
    264 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zosimas View Post
    While it looks like a nice item, I can't justify $80 to purchase one (yet )

    The nice thing about it however is I would no longer have to disable my computer firewall to let withrottle through to JMRI
    Street price is only $60...
    Never mistake a guy who talks a lot for a guy who has something to say...

    CH&FR Site and Blog: http://www.chfrrailroad.net and http://blog.chfrrailroad.net
    Appalachian Railroad Technology: http://www.apprailtech.com


  18. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Zombie Hill, Vermont
    Posts
    5,932
    Blog Entries
    42
    Thanks
    9,778
    Thanked 9,940 Times in 2,812 Posts
    Mentioned
    136 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TwinDad View Post
    Street price is only $60...

    Still more than i can spend with Christmas around the corner.
    ~ Charles

    :shay:

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to zosimas For This Useful Post:


  20. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    South Mississippi, USA
    Posts
    687
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    5,270
    Thanked 1,780 Times in 446 Posts
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    @TwinDad question, will this work with the DIgitrax Zephyr DCS52 the new and current model? Since it’s has loconet interface?
    Cheers!
    Clayton

  21. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    17,061
    Blog Entries
    16
    Thanks
    4,764
    Thanked 13,686 Times in 5,594 Posts
    Mentioned
    264 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MoPac View Post
    @TwinDad question, will this work with the DIgitrax Zephyr DCS52 the new and current model? Since it’s has loconet interface?
    Yes, it should. I haven't tested it specifically, but the LNWI is (AFAIK) compatible with all of the Digitrax command stations and other LocoNet products.
    Never mistake a guy who talks a lot for a guy who has something to say...

    CH&FR Site and Blog: http://www.chfrrailroad.net and http://blog.chfrrailroad.net
    Appalachian Railroad Technology: http://www.apprailtech.com


  22. The Following User Says Thank You to TwinDad For This Useful Post:


  23. #19
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Northeastern Pennsylvania
    Posts
    593
    Thanks
    2,066
    Thanked 2,635 Times in 443 Posts
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Wish someone would do a Wifi throttle for the DC market. I want an actual throttle handle or at least a knob and a actual switch to change direction. Oh well, I can dream.
    Cheers.
    Maurice
    Attempting to apply the K.I.S.S. principle to Model Railroading.

  24. The Following User Says Thank You to Maurice For This Useful Post:


  25. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    South Mississippi, USA
    Posts
    687
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    5,270
    Thanked 1,780 Times in 446 Posts
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TwinDad View Post
    Yes, it should. I haven't tested it specifically, but the LNWI is (AFAIK) compatible with all of the Digitrax command stations and other LocoNet products.
    Thanks again for the verification. I checked in the Zephyr express manual, didn't see anything in relation. I read online about the LNWI on the Digitrax website that it will work with all Loconets. But it too didn't show anything about the Zephyr itself working together with the LNWI.

    After the running session that I was invited to on Saturday, the owner had LNWI through his Digitrax loconet system. Although he is also using JMRI. Now I know what I will need for my layout in the near future. That WiThrottle is a blast! Its a lot more easier than my old DT300.
    Cheers!
    Clayton

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •