Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Atlas Signals DCC, NCE BD20 - can't get the signal to move from red

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    233
    Thanks
    97
    Thanked 37 Times in 20 Posts
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Atlas Signals DCC, NCE BD20 - can't get the signal to move from red

    hi everyone! I now have a new layout and working on signals.

    When I have the BD20 hooked up, I can't get the signal to move from Red (when nothing is in the block).

    If I unhook the output from the BD20, the signal goes green, so I believe all is ok with SCB.

    I started with 2 loops through the BD20, moved to one, then no loop just pass through. No matter what, as long as the wire passes through the coil, it's send the RED signal.

    I tried adding a resistor...when I do that, I can't get the signal to turn red...only stays green then. Thinking my resistor value might be too high, but I don't have access to others.

    Is there another way to adjust this all? Thank you!

    J

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Columbus,OH, USA
    Posts
    3,265
    Thanks
    80
    Thanked 1,585 Times in 917 Posts
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jayareed View Post
    hi everyone! I now have a new layout and working on signals.

    When I have the BD20 hooked up, I can't get the signal to move from Red (when nothing is in the block).

    If I unhook the output from the BD20, the signal goes green, so I believe all is ok with SCB.

    I started with 2 loops through the BD20, moved to one, then no loop just pass through. No matter what, as long as the wire passes through the coil, it's send the RED signal.

    I tried adding a resistor...when I do that, I can't get the signal to turn red...only stays green then. Thinking my resistor value might be too high, but I don't have access to others.

    Is there another way to adjust this all? Thank you!

    J
    2 questions:
    1) the BD20 has two outputs. Which one are you using?
    2) did you power the BD20?


    If nothing else, power the BD20 so you can see when it is active. If I recall correctly, the Atlas signal boards have an output you can pull 5V from.
    For decoder installation and JMRI services, please visit http://www.bentraildigital.com
    For n-scale intermodal information, please visit http://nscaleintermodal.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    233
    Thanks
    97
    Thanked 37 Times in 20 Posts
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks for the reply pbender!

    Ok....I figured out the issue, but not sure how to correct.

    The segment of track the BD20 is sensing has another feeder line (2 total for that section of track).

    When I disconnected the second feeder line, the signal works properly - Green with nothing in the block and red with something in it.

    So...the second feeder line is causing an amount of current to flow even when nothing is powered in that block - guessing the resistance in the track is causing a voltage drop allowing current to flow???

    With all that said, I'd certainly prefer multiple feeders for each segment, but how the heck can I do it?

    Thanks for everyone's expertise on this.

    J

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Columbus,OH, USA
    Posts
    3,265
    Thanks
    80
    Thanked 1,585 Times in 917 Posts
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jayareed View Post
    So...the second feeder line is causing an amount of current to flow even when nothing is powered in that block - guessing the resistance in the track is causing a voltage drop allowing current to flow???

    With all that said, I'd certainly prefer multiple feeders for each segment, but how the heck can I do it?
    The way to do it is to make sure all feeders are connected to the bus after the block detector.

    I do this by having a feeder from the main bus to a sub-bus for the detected block. The actual feeders that go to the track are connected to the sub bus. You can also have the feeders connect to a common terminal block after the detector.

    Somewhere I have a drawing of this. I will look for that later ( my computer is in the middle of a backup, and I am trying not to disturb it... )
    For decoder installation and JMRI services, please visit http://www.bentraildigital.com
    For n-scale intermodal information, please visit http://nscaleintermodal.com

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to pbender For This Useful Post:


  6. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    233
    Thanks
    97
    Thanked 37 Times in 20 Posts
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks again pbender! Not sure why I didn't think of that. Makes total sense. This was a huge help!!

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Scranton,PA, USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 8 Times in 3 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    untitled (2).jpg

    This maybe what you are looking for?

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Scranton,PA, USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 8 Times in 3 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    untitled.pngHere is a clearer one.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 8th Jun 2016, 11:40 PM
  2. Atlas signals with Atlas signal control boards, NCE BD20 and DCC
    By jayareed in forum Turnout Control Devices, Signaling, & Detection.
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th Dec 2012, 03:46 PM
  3. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 14th Oct 2012, 07:53 AM
  4. Atlas Signals and DCC one year later. Anyone using them?
    By woodone in forum Turnout Control Devices, Signaling, & Detection.
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th Jan 2008, 10:54 AM
  5. Atlas SD-7 Doesn't Move
    By munkees in forum Diesel
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd Dec 2006, 08:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •