Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Digitrax New Zephyr DCS52

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    DFW, Texas
    Posts
    327
    Blog Entries
    3
    Thanks
    219
    Thanked 192 Times in 99 Posts
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Icon6 Digitrax New Zephyr DCS52

    Digitrax announced a new Zephyr today. The DCS52.

    The best new feature...built-in USB port.

    http://www.digitrax.com/products/starter-sets/dcs52/



    Jerry

    If you haven't broken something along the way, you haven't learned anything.

  2. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to warnerj01 For This Useful Post:


  3. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Ft. Worth, Texas, USA
    Posts
    367
    Thanks
    1,009
    Thanked 444 Times in 224 Posts
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Built-in USB? Welcome to 2000, model railroad and ham radio manufacturers. Seriously though, looks like it could give NCE a run for the money.
    Radon Gulch & Tortilla Flats Railway - the 'Good Gas' line! - a minor division of the Santa Fe Southern Railway Co. "Dust, gas and a lot of rocky stuff...

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Henderson, NV
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    2,534
    Thanked 991 Times in 242 Posts
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Wow that is a really nice generational improvement!

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    994
    Thanks
    2,441
    Thanked 978 Times in 512 Posts
    Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    With the USB port does this mean you can run JMRI without LocoBuffer or PR3/4? That would be great!

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to kingmeow For This Useful Post:


  7. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA, USA
    Posts
    3,003
    Thanks
    1,283
    Thanked 2,860 Times in 1,003 Posts
    Mentioned
    34 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drbnc View Post
    Built-in USB? Welcome to 2000, model railroad and ham radio manufacturers. Seriously though, looks like it could give NCE a run for the money.

    AND an LCD screen!

    I hope it's Y2K-compliant!

    Metro Red Ln (Metro Red Line)
    Under the streets of Los Angeles

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to MetroRedLn For This Useful Post:


  9. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    DFW, Texas
    Posts
    327
    Blog Entries
    3
    Thanks
    219
    Thanked 192 Times in 99 Posts
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kingmeow View Post
    With the USB port does this mean you can run JMRI without LocoBuffer or PR3/4? That would be great!
    Yes.

    According to Digitrax, the USB port can do anything the PR4 can do.
    Jerry

    If you haven't broken something along the way, you haven't learned anything.

  10. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to warnerj01 For This Useful Post:


  11. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Mill Bay BC
    Posts
    2,922
    Thanks
    4,981
    Thanked 4,145 Times in 1,524 Posts
    Mentioned
    80 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    I wonder what price point this will come in at . With the upgraded feature of the USB port , and screen ect , will that put it out of the running as a cheap starter set . Will NCE gain more or less market share of starter systems if this becomes a pricier starter set . Curious to the MSRP price they will give it . I know we will get it cheaper through large retailers , before anyone goes on about MSRP lol

    Steve

  12. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    994
    Thanks
    2,441
    Thanked 978 Times in 512 Posts
    Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    MSRP is $10 more than the current Zephyr Xtra. For practical purposes, no difference.

  13. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to kingmeow For This Useful Post:


  14. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Perth. Western Australia
    Posts
    554
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    1,451
    Thanked 737 Times in 300 Posts
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Interesting that they still have the jump ports, do the other starter systems have these?
    I was thinking of upgrading my old DCS50 sometime in the year, this looks like a good option.....
    Cheers,

    Russ

    CEO of Devil's Gate Mining Co.



  15. The Following User Says Thank You to mosslake For This Useful Post:


  16. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    994
    Thanks
    2,441
    Thanked 978 Times in 512 Posts
    Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mosslake View Post
    Interesting that they still have the jump ports, do the other starter systems have these?
    I was thinking of upgrading my old DCS50 sometime in the year, this looks like a good option.....
    Stope putting thoughts into my head! The fact that there's a USB port means I can ditch my LocoBuffer for JMRI and the firmware is upgradeable. Plus (difference from a DSC50) higher function keys, 20 locos, 3A, etc.

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to kingmeow For This Useful Post:


  18. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    1,054
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    1,229
    Thanked 4,476 Times in 698 Posts
    Mentioned
    77 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Good improvement!

    Remember, you should be able to use your existing Zephyr as a second throttle if you do pick up this new one.

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to Ender For This Useful Post:


  20. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    994
    Thanks
    2,441
    Thanked 978 Times in 512 Posts
    Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Oooo! I wonder if you can make the DSC50 as a booster to a DSC52? Then 2+3 = 5A!

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to kingmeow For This Useful Post:


  22. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Oklahoma, USA
    Posts
    400
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked 888 Times in 243 Posts
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    @kingmeow

    You certainly should be able to run a DCS50/51 as a booster to the DCS52; you'll need to have them on the same LocoNet but powering different, double gapped, blocks. So one block will be powered by the DCS50/51 (and controlled by the DCS52) and the other block will be powered and controlled by the DCS52.

    I don't think that connecting two to the same block is a good idea.

  23. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to samusi01 For This Useful Post:


  24. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Perth. Western Australia
    Posts
    554
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    1,451
    Thanked 737 Times in 300 Posts
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ender View Post
    Remember, you should be able to use your existing Zephyr as a second throttle if you do pick up this new one.
    That's just what i was thinking. The DCS52 as command unit and my older DCS50 as second fiddle. I only have a small switching layout under construction, 2 455mm X 1210mm units plus short unitrack staging yard. Each unit could power each section....
    Cheers,

    Russ

    CEO of Devil's Gate Mining Co.



  25. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Posts
    98
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 99 Times in 33 Posts
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Unless they hired someone to write their technical manuals in plain English, I doubt this will be much of an improvement. The can put all the bells and whistles they want in it and it will not be worth anything without clear instructions on how to operate it. Trying to program anything on a Digitrax System sucks, JMRI is much easier; and I say that as someone who has a Digitrax System and also belongs to an N Trak club that uses nothing but Digitrax for our DCC needs.

  26. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 57 Times in 22 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I just hope it makes consisting easier, and that their next generation throttle follows suit.
    Starting over in N

Similar Threads

  1. New Digitrax Zephyr Xtra
    By TwinDad in forum DCC
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd Oct 2010, 05:30 PM
  2. Digitrax Zephyr - Fried
    By FergusonTE in forum DCC
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 14th Apr 2010, 03:21 PM
  3. Digitrax Zephyr Problem
    By munkees in forum DCC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18th Nov 2008, 12:11 AM
  4. Smokin Digitrax Zephyr
    By johnf in forum DCC
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th Feb 2007, 07:10 PM
  5. NCE PowerCAB or Digitrax Zephyr
    By siderod in forum DCC
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 30th Jan 2007, 06:43 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •