Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Mixing DC on DCC

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,378
    Blog Entries
    8
    Thanks
    1,756
    Thanked 2,054 Times in 821 Posts
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Mixing DC on DCC

    I am wired up for DCC, using MRC control.

    I know MRC doesnít allow me to run DC as other systems do, so looking for plan b as I have a couple DC locomotives that arenít worth/able to be upgraded.

    If I install a switch to flip between DCC and DC - should I just take my DCC locomotives off, or wire up a special DCC only parking spot(s).

    Or what other options am I missing?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO, US of A
    Posts
    1,793
    Thanks
    3,841
    Thanked 2,574 Times in 1,048 Posts
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Won't your digital loks run on DC? So far as I know, most decoders have a CV whose default setting allows running on DC as well as DCC; one needs to change the CV setting if one wants to disable that ability.
    Cheers!
    Gordon
    Rheinland Bayern Bahn
    http://www.nscale.net/forums/showthr...4-x-9-5-layout

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Fort Smith, Arkansas
    Posts
    1,344
    Thanks
    1,168
    Thanked 1,736 Times in 594 Posts
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The DCC units will be fine, it's the DC units you don't want getting AC power.
    Daniel Dawson

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,378
    Blog Entries
    8
    Thanks
    1,756
    Thanked 2,054 Times in 821 Posts
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    So I should aim to hide the DC units or remove them when switching over?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    southeast michigan
    Posts
    1,074
    Thanks
    506
    Thanked 1,250 Times in 497 Posts
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Do you have block control for running DC? Otherwise all the locos will move at once. Personally when I switch over (which isn't often) I box up the incompatible ones so there is no mistake.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Fort Smith, Arkansas
    Posts
    1,344
    Thanks
    1,168
    Thanked 1,736 Times in 594 Posts
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Correct. Also I usually turn the DC options off on my DCC units. As someone else said, I try to do my best to not have mixed units on the layout at the same time at all, just because I'm cautious, but in theory you should be fine as long as the DC units don't get digital power.
    Daniel Dawson

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO, US of A
    Posts
    1,793
    Thanks
    3,841
    Thanked 2,574 Times in 1,048 Posts
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Just curious, Daniel, but does it serve any useful purpose to disable the DC capability on your decoder equipped loks?
    Cheers!
    Gordon
    Rheinland Bayern Bahn
    http://www.nscale.net/forums/showthr...4-x-9-5-layout

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    2,437
    Thanked 978 Times in 512 Posts
    Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by el Gato Gordo View Post
    Just curious, Daniel, but does it serve any useful purpose to disable the DC capability on your decoder equipped loks?
    Yes, it prevents run aways when there is a blip in the DCC system. The decoder incorrectly senses DC, switches to DC mode and goes full speed.

    Many clubs that run DCC have a rule that DC capability be turn off on all locos.

  9. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to kingmeow For This Useful Post:


  10. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Fort Smith, Arkansas
    Posts
    1,344
    Thanks
    1,168
    Thanked 1,736 Times in 594 Posts
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kingmeow View Post
    Yes, it prevents run aways when there is a blip in the DCC system. The decoder incorrectly senses DC, switches to DC mode and goes full speed.

    Many clubs that run DCC have a rule that DC capability be turn off on all locos.
    Yep. Pretty much this. And the fact that they don't seem to run on DC that well anyway.
    Daniel Dawson

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO, US of A
    Posts
    1,793
    Thanks
    3,841
    Thanked 2,574 Times in 1,048 Posts
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kingmeow View Post
    Yes, it prevents run aways when there is a blip in the DCC system. The decoder incorrectly senses DC, switches to DC mode and goes full speed.

    Many clubs that run DCC have a rule that DC capability be turn off on all locos.
    Thanks! I have never heard of that happening, nor have I ever experienced it in 6 years with DCC. But I don't doubt your info - just lucky, I guess. And since I am a club of "one" I can make my own rules.
    Cheers!
    Gordon
    Rheinland Bayern Bahn
    http://www.nscale.net/forums/showthr...4-x-9-5-layout

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Tulsa Oklahoma USA
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 16 Times in 7 Posts
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I have an ABA set of E8/9s that have not been converted to DCC yet that I run on occasion on my Zepher powered layout. Out of a dozen DCC locomotives that sit on the layout, one engine seems to be sensitive to running the E8/9s and always tries to start up and run away. Took me a minuet to figure out what was going on.

Similar Threads

  1. Mixing rail joiners
    By TimW in forum Trackage
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28th Jan 2015, 12:59 AM
  2. mixing different brands of track
    By NSnosteam in forum Layouts, Design, & Planning.
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 20th Jan 2014, 06:48 PM
  3. Mixing Track Help
    By Chicago Rail in forum Trackage
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 28th Feb 2013, 08:21 AM
  4. Mixing brands? (was: HELP?)
    By train in forum Rollingstock
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15th Jul 2011, 09:21 PM
  5. Mixing Manufacturers
    By Agatheron in forum DCC
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 7th Mar 2007, 05:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •