Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Atlas RS1 Dcc sound install

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Atlas RS1 Dcc sound install

    Quick question, has anyone ever put sound into the Atlas RS1? I've done many installs with atlas and kato RS3 and GP7s but have not done a sound install with an RS1. It looks really tight with the loksound select micro. I'm just wondering if anyone has done one before I go wasting my time trying to fit something that will not fit.


    Ryan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Zombietopia, Washington
    Posts
    5,165
    Thanks
    18,006
    Thanked 11,963 Times in 3,436 Posts
    Mentioned
    349 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    @ErieL47

    Moose hasn't yet, but can tell you that you'll need to mill the frame halves to do it. This is one of Moose's many "some day" projects....
    ~ Moose (Co-founder of the Mt. Tahoma & Pacific Railroad, located some where in the Pacific Northwest)

    "Beware the Train of Thought that Carries no Freight..."

    Click Here to See Moose's Layout Thread

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Galati, Romania,
    Posts
    346
    Thanks
    378
    Thanked 1,205 Times in 253 Posts
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    This one should be a fit, with little milling of frame. Components are only on one face, only 2.5mm high. I don't check the sound data base for RS1 sound. This are the dimension:
    MX660 - Universal Board-style Hardwire with Large Solder Pads



    Dimensions: 1.67 x .378 x .099 inch (42.3 x 9.6 x 2.5 mm)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Zombietopia, Washington
    Posts
    5,165
    Thanks
    18,006
    Thanked 11,963 Times in 3,436 Posts
    Mentioned
    349 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    @gamitzu

    What about milling for the speaker?
    ~ Moose (Co-founder of the Mt. Tahoma & Pacific Railroad, located some where in the Pacific Northwest)

    "Beware the Train of Thought that Carries no Freight..."

    Click Here to See Moose's Layout Thread

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Galati, Romania,
    Posts
    346
    Thanks
    378
    Thanked 1,205 Times in 253 Posts
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Brian from SBS4DCC have a great offer of speaker enclosures. I bought this 8mm x 12mm sugar cube https://store.sbs4dcc.com/SBS4DCCSug...ndChamber.aspx
    Work great for small locomotives, can be sanded down more in height if needed. Is just 0.22 inch tall compared with 0.31 inch ZIMO sugar cube.
    I squeeze this small on Atlas SD9, GP9 in front of loco, under sound decoder board with minor modification of frame. In Kato SD40, SD45, i mount it in the fuel tank, after i cut a space with a jewel saw. Sound 100k better than original 32ohm headache pill mounted on by MRC. I decreased almost complete the master volume.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Galati, Romania,
    Posts
    346
    Thanks
    378
    Thanked 1,205 Times in 253 Posts
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Moose2013 View Post
    @gamitzu

    What about milling for the speaker?
    I not have a milling machine, i just use a fretwork for cutting metal. Work nice for me.
    IMG_4870 by Constantin Dac, on Flickr

    IMG_4859 by Constantin Dac, on Flickr

  7. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to gamitzu For This Useful Post:


  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Zombietopia, Washington
    Posts
    5,165
    Thanks
    18,006
    Thanked 11,963 Times in 3,436 Posts
    Mentioned
    349 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gamitzu View Post
    i just use a fretwork for cutting metal.
    With a metal file?
    ~ Moose (Co-founder of the Mt. Tahoma & Pacific Railroad, located some where in the Pacific Northwest)

    "Beware the Train of Thought that Carries no Freight..."

    Click Here to See Moose's Layout Thread

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Galati, Romania,
    Posts
    346
    Thanks
    378
    Thanked 1,205 Times in 253 Posts
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Nooope, you grow a beard till will file 5mm deep hole in a frame. This one: https://www.micromark.com/Premium-Sa...27-Inch-17-TPI

    https://www.micromark.com/Jewelers-Saw

  10. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to gamitzu For This Useful Post:


  11. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Zombietopia, Washington
    Posts
    5,165
    Thanks
    18,006
    Thanked 11,963 Times in 3,436 Posts
    Mentioned
    349 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ha ha ha, Mr Funny human...
    ~ Moose (Co-founder of the Mt. Tahoma & Pacific Railroad, located some where in the Pacific Northwest)

    "Beware the Train of Thought that Carries no Freight..."

    Click Here to See Moose's Layout Thread

  12. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Galati, Romania,
    Posts
    346
    Thanks
    378
    Thanked 1,205 Times in 253 Posts
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    That kind of metal tent to block the teeth of file very fast. You can cut like that, it's easy, and after, just to file the cutting edges for nice shape and for remove the burr. I found easy like this. I try in the past to mill the frame of one 25 ACe, is very fragile and easy to bend. after milling, i cry to reshape back to keep the trucks in place without fly on the floor every time. I apologize if my answer disturbed you, was just a joke, not a remark to be taken seriously.

  13. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Zombietopia, Washington
    Posts
    5,165
    Thanks
    18,006
    Thanked 11,963 Times in 3,436 Posts
    Mentioned
    349 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    @gamitzu

    You did a really nice job of milling the frame with hand tools, very nice...

    What is the locomotive in your photos?

    Moose could be wrong, but it does not look like an RS-1.
    ~ Moose (Co-founder of the Mt. Tahoma & Pacific Railroad, located some where in the Pacific Northwest)

    "Beware the Train of Thought that Carries no Freight..."

    Click Here to See Moose's Layout Thread

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Moose2013 For This Useful Post:


  15. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    306
    Thanks
    139
    Thanked 488 Times in 187 Posts
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    What about using an iphone speaker? I've read a few places where the 6's speaker has been used with good results.
    https://www.ifixit.com/Store/iPhone/.../IF314-009?o=1

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to Olie For This Useful Post:


  17. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Galati, Romania,
    Posts
    346
    Thanks
    378
    Thanked 1,205 Times in 253 Posts
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It is not a RS-1, i do not have one (yet). Above photo show a SD70ACe frame, just for reference, to see how easy it's to cut and process manual a locomotive frame, for accommodation of sugar cube speaker. Regarding the phone speaker, any of them, i do not recommend, can not process sound in the way of a sugar cube.You need to have at least 2-3 mm in the back of speaker to reproduce the bass well. Zimo have 8mm, SBS4DCC have 4-5mm. Diesel locomotive have a lot of bass sound. I play some time ago with a MRC1960, 16b sound decoder in my Technics Amplifier and speakers 40W. I remain . But in N scale you have to play sound in biggest speaker which fit inside locomotive.

  18. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Zombietopia, Washington
    Posts
    5,165
    Thanks
    18,006
    Thanked 11,963 Times in 3,436 Posts
    Mentioned
    349 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ErieL47 View Post
    Quick question, has anyone ever put sound into the Atlas RS1? I've done many installs with atlas and kato RS3 and GP7s but have not done a sound install with an RS1. It looks really tight with the loksound select micro. I'm just wondering if anyone has done one before I go wasting my time trying to fit something that will not fit.


    Ryan
    Ryan, Moose not sure, but if Moose read correctly, then you have already installed DCC sound in an RS-3. Correct?

    What might be your concerns with the RS-1?

    Moose suspect if you were able to do it with the RS-3, you should be able to do it with the RS-1, although you might need to mill more of the frame.

    http://www.spookshow.net/loco/kators1.html

    http://www.spookshow.net/loco/kators3.html

    Side note:

    John Claudino from Aztec (frame milling company) informed Moose last year that he was not able to mill the RS-1 frame for sound, only DCC. He wouldn't clarify as to why...

    If you or anyone else here has successfully installed DCC sound into an RS-1 or RS-3 for that matter, then it would be nice to know and see photos of how it was done.
    ~ Moose (Co-founder of the Mt. Tahoma & Pacific Railroad, located some where in the Pacific Northwest)

    "Beware the Train of Thought that Carries no Freight..."

    Click Here to See Moose's Layout Thread

  19. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Galati, Romania,
    Posts
    346
    Thanks
    378
    Thanked 1,205 Times in 253 Posts
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I have google it on web, and look like RS1 locomotive can not be fitted with sound. I found pictures with RS2, RS3, but have different frame. This two have milled the frame around the motor, front and rear, almost on top of driven axle of motor. Can be fitted with Loksound micro. On RS1, maybe can be fitted a Zimo MX660, it.s only 2.5mm tall, and have the components only in one side of card, back side is flat. But i do not know how much can be shaved from motor saddle on top, to accommodate the decoder. In pictorials on web and also here: http://www.spookshow.net/loco/kators1.html i can not see the dimensions.

  20. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Zombietopia, Washington
    Posts
    5,165
    Thanks
    18,006
    Thanked 11,963 Times in 3,436 Posts
    Mentioned
    349 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    @gamitzu

    Moose thought would be to modify the frame below the motor, probably a fairly shallow speaker could be installed there. The plastic "fuel tank" would cover it up; not sure if the tank would have to be modified. Cannot get to Moose's RS-1 to check at moment...
    ~ Moose (Co-founder of the Mt. Tahoma & Pacific Railroad, located some where in the Pacific Northwest)

    "Beware the Train of Thought that Carries no Freight..."

    Click Here to See Moose's Layout Thread

  21. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Galati, Romania,
    Posts
    346
    Thanks
    378
    Thanked 1,205 Times in 253 Posts
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    My concern is not the bottom tank. I am afraid on top of frame , where should be to mount the decoder. I don't know the size, and the remaining gap between frame and locomotive shell. I see frame pictures of RS3, can be fitted DCC without doubt, just to cut in front and rear of engine. Speaker can go easy on bottom , in the fuel tank, it's just 8mm wide, can be mounted transverse on frame, under fuel cover.

  22. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The RS1 is about 4 mm shorter in length and 1.5 mm shorter in locomotive width with the actual frame. I couldn't even fit the ESU board into the shell. That's how tight it is. With the RS3 I had a little bit of wiggle room and I mounted the speaker in the fuel tank. I was having problems with the actual board width fitting. I did get the DCC installed though with no sound as the TCS CN was narrower than the sound board. I even tried to mill out extra frames that I had ordered extra from atlas as a test to see if it would even work. From this point RS1 is definitely not able to have sound.

    Ryan
    Thanks for all the replies btw

    - - - Updated - - -

    Yea that was my concern and it does not fit. There isn't a gap on the top and you cant mill it down as the top of the motor is right there

  23. The Following User Says Thank You to ErieL47 For This Useful Post:


  24. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Galati, Romania,
    Posts
    346
    Thanks
    378
    Thanked 1,205 Times in 253 Posts
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Remain two option. No sound or sound car on the back. Till one sound decoder manufacturer or a Chinese which write poems in a rice grain will built a smaller one. I also like small switchers on my diorama, look funny when pull 4-5 cars on a yard at small speed. At this point Atlas EMD GP-9 is my smallest one with sound on diesel, which i modify to sound myself.
    IMG_9971 by Constantin Dac, on Flickr

    And the smallest diesel with Loksound by factory is Rapido GMD1 if i am not wrong.
    IMG_9965 by Constantin Dac, on Flickr

  25. The Following User Says Thank You to gamitzu For This Useful Post:


  26. #20
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Twin Cities, Minnesota
    Posts
    1,742
    Thanks
    904
    Thanked 4,537 Times in 997 Posts
    Mentioned
    147 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gamitzu View Post
    And the smallest diesel with Loksound by factory is Rapido GMD1 if i am not wrong.
    I think the Atlas S-2 wins that contest -



    -Mark

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th Jul 2016, 11:49 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 31st Dec 2015, 03:45 PM
  3. SP AC-9 Sound Install
    By carlso in forum Steam
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th Nov 2014, 11:20 AM
  4. Another Sound Install - Atlas RS-11
    By jdcolombo in forum DCC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st Nov 2013, 01:07 PM
  5. MRC sound install
    By Roque in forum DCC
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 20th Jan 2010, 12:02 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •