Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: best way to install the tortoise actuating rod to a code 55 turnout

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    164
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default best way to install the tortoise actuating rod to a code 55 turnout

    Hi,
    I'm looking for some help for the best way to install a tortoise switch machine, specifically connecting the actuating rod, since the holes on these are on either side of the turnout and not in the middle ( avoiding any drilling in the center).

    Thanks,
    Andy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Lancaster, SC
    Posts
    753
    Blog Entries
    3
    Thanks
    331
    Thanked 998 Times in 428 Posts
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    What kind of sub-roadbed do you use? If the track is laid on plywood, just drill the hole under the end of the throwbar and you're set to go.

    On parts of my layout where I use spline roadbed (3/4" wide, just enough for the track) I cut a piece of Masonite to fit the switch machine and then glue it to the bottom of the sub-roadbed, offset to the side. The throw rod goes past the edge of this piece, so no hole required.
    Tim Rumph
    Modeling the Southern Railway in N-Scale

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    southeast michigan
    Posts
    1,062
    Thanks
    492
    Thanked 1,238 Times in 490 Posts
    Mentioned
    36 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Not sure what you mean. Pick an end, drill a quarter inch hole below it and center the throw arm end of the Tortoise below the hole using the template in the instructions, right? You could drill a hole in the center of the throw arm if you want, but the end is easier because the wire can stick up a bit without snagging your rolling stock.

  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to NtheBasement For This Useful Post:


  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    NW Indiana
    Posts
    853
    Thanks
    369
    Thanked 1,880 Times in 468 Posts
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Not sure if this will work for you, but here are some different control linkages for turnouts: https://www.nscale.net/forums/showth...ontrol-linkage
    Charter member of CAMRRA.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to gary60s For This Useful Post:


  7. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    164
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tim R View Post
    What kind of sub-roadbed do you use? If the track is laid on plywood, just drill the hole under the end of the throwbar and you're set to go.

    On parts of my layout where I use spline roadbed (3/4" wide, just enough for the track) I cut a piece of Masonite to fit the switch machine and then glue it to the bottom of the sub-roadbed, offset to the side. The throw rod goes past the edge of this piece, so no hole required.
    I have 2 pieces of foam on top of a HCD

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Tim R View Post
    What kind of sub-roadbed do you use? If the track is laid on plywood, just drill the hole under the end of the throwbar and you're set to go.

    On parts of my layout where I use spline roadbed (3/4" wide, just enough for the track) I cut a piece of Masonite to fit the switch machine and then glue it to the bottom of the sub-roadbed, offset to the side. The throw rod goes past the edge of this piece, so no hole required.
    2 pieces of 1 inch foam on top of a HCD

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to drewthomas For This Useful Post:


  9. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Lancaster, SC
    Posts
    753
    Blog Entries
    3
    Thanks
    331
    Thanked 998 Times in 428 Posts
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drewthomas View Post
    2 pieces of 1 inch foam on top of a HCD
    Use your usual method for mounting the Tortoise, but center it under the end of the throwbar (on whichever side makes the most sense) instead of under the track centerline.

    Since trying to run a Tortoise machine through more than 3 inches of foam and door probably won't work very well, I imagine that you're going to use some sort of mounting plate sunk into the foam, with a hole through the rest of the foam and door to clear the body of the Tortoise.
    Tim Rumph
    Modeling the Southern Railway in N-Scale

  10. #7
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Southern Colorado
    Posts
    3,020
    Blog Entries
    8
    Thanks
    1,265
    Thanked 1,893 Times in 898 Posts
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NtheBasement View Post
    You could drill a hole in the center of the throw arm if you want, but the end is easier because the wire can stick up a bit without snagging your rolling stock.
    The throwbar on Atlas 55 turnouts is tiny enough. Drilling a hole in the center is possible, but would really weaken it. Better to just use the holes provided. Pick an end and go for it. I use a very similar method to this one: https://www.nscale.net/forums/showth...086#post257086

    With a bit of difference. I use brass tubing through the substrate and at the bottom I bend a V in the piano wire. The wire on the tortoise catches in this V and operates the throw. It's hard to explain, I hope this photo helps some:

    "Do Not Hump!?!?! Does that mean what I think it means?!?"--Michelle Blanchard

    "People saw wood and say nothing, but railroad men saw trains and say things that are better left unprinted."--Charles De Lano Hine

    Down with UP

  11. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to ranulf For This Useful Post:


  12. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Palo Alto, CA
    Posts
    415
    Thanks
    587
    Thanked 725 Times in 207 Posts
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You should be fine using either end ho,e on the drawbar. I wouldn’t try to drill a hole in the center - would leave too little of the draw bar left to be stable. I’ve used the side hole for both Atlas and Peco turnouts with a Tortoise switch machines without problem, although I upgrade the actuator wire to the next thickness up (piano wire) to give a more definite throw.

  13. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to danb For This Useful Post:


Similar Threads

  1. Why use a frog juicer vs using the Tortoise to power the turnout?
    By Matthewd5 in forum Turnout Control Devices, Signaling, & Detection.
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 16th Mar 2018, 10:01 AM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13th Jun 2013, 12:13 PM
  3. Using a Tortoise with Peco Code 80 turnouts?
    By ranulf in forum Trackage
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23rd May 2012, 07:42 PM
  4. Code 55 Turnouts and Tortoise switch machines?
    By Jimmi (RIP) in forum Turnout Control Devices, Signaling, & Detection.
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26th Mar 2008, 10:40 AM
  5. Tortoise with Peco turnout
    By fifer in forum Turnout Control Devices, Signaling, & Detection.
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th Feb 2006, 12:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •