Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: BLI T1 Troubleshooting

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Dallas, GA
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 174 Times in 43 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default BLI T1 Troubleshooting

    Hey y'all, long time no post.

    So I have finally set up a small table in our new house down here in Georgia. I got all excited that I would get to see my BLI T1 at least make a lap or two around the track.

    And that's all I got. Two laps and now all I get is the stationary sounds and lights in either direction.

    I finally managed to get the tender shell off and can't find the factory reset button. Is it under the bubble wrap and tape holding the board down? Anything else to try before I start trying to deal with BLI?

    Scott ~ Dispatcher for Norfolk Southern

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    133
    Thanked 481 Times in 183 Posts
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The Paragon 3 sound system can be reset to the factory
    default by setting CV8 to a value of 8. If this cannot be
    accomplished, the system can be manually reset by
    holding down the tiny reset button on the sound circuit
    board while turning on track power.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Dallas, GA
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 174 Times in 43 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Olie View Post
    The Paragon 3 sound system can be reset to the factory
    default by setting CV8 to a value of 8. If this cannot be
    accomplished, the system can be manually reset by
    holding down the tiny reset button on the sound circuit
    board while turning on track power.
    I had seen that, thus my search for the reset button. After peeling back the tape and bubble wrap, I found a single white button. Didn't see a label, so I assumed it's the Reset. Did nothing.

    DC track, tests at 15.5V at full power. Motor doesn't attempt to move at all, but the sounds start to play as if it was creeping if I run it up to full power.

    Scott ~ Dispatcher for Norfolk Southern

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    133
    Thanked 481 Times in 183 Posts
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Do you know anyone with a DCC controller that can set CV8 to 8?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Dallas, GA
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 174 Times in 43 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Unfortunately no. We just moved down to Georgia here this past Halloween, haven't met anyone locally that has anything to do with the hobby. Closest actual hobby shop that deals with N scale is over an hour away.

    Scott ~ Dispatcher for Norfolk Southern

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    133
    Thanked 481 Times in 183 Posts
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hobby Town in Kennesaw is about 30 minutes from you. It's the largest in the nation and they work on locomotives right there in the store. The guys I've talked to that work behind the counter have always been very helpful. Might give them a try.

  7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Olie For This Useful Post:


  8. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Dallas, GA
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 174 Times in 43 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Have been there, didn't know they worked on anything. Last I was in there, they hardly had anything in their train section, it was rather disappointing. I remember it being much more impressive when I first went there twelve years ago.

    Scott ~ Dispatcher for Norfolk Southern

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Glendive, Montana
    Posts
    1,408
    Thanks
    6,119
    Thanked 3,645 Times in 985 Posts
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes, that is the manual reset button. Follow the directions posted here, and give that a try. It worked for me once. There are some amazing sounds available on their sound chip. However, mine blew again and won't reset. Am waiting for ESU Loksound to come out with v.5 and am going to upgrade.

    I will probably send the existing chip back to BLI with a cordial letter explaining why I changed it out. Just to hopefully give them a nudge to fix it's little glitches, that are so annoying.

    Good luck! And remember, no pics or video, and it never happened! Just ask Moose.
    Northern Pacific and Black Hills RR in N, of course!!
    Aian, CEO, COO, Engineer, Gopher and everything else!

  10. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to badlandnp For This Useful Post:


  11. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Dallas, GA
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 174 Times in 43 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Olie View Post
    Hobby Town in Kennesaw is about 30 minutes from you. It's the largest in the nation and they work on locomotives right there in the store. The guys I've talked to that work behind the counter have always been very helpful. Might give them a try.
    So while the wife and I were running errands, I figured I would go into HobbyTown. Had a DCC equipped test track right behind the counter. Unfortunately, it was unable to detect any decoder in the engine. So off it goes to Broadway Limited while it's still under warranty.

    Current turn around time is up to 13 weeks. I've guess I've waited this long, what's another three months...

    Scott ~ Dispatcher for Norfolk Southern

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to TrainFreak For This Useful Post:


  13. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    586
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 530 Times in 279 Posts
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    k the trouble shooting is done? --> dead decoder.

    I have to make a comment. Over 10 years ago Atlas asked on their forum
    what we thought of DCC and locos that come with decoders.

    I said something like; as the price of decoders drop and get smaller,
    I can see they will become standard equipment in a new loco.
    I went on to add a important part to that comment.
    If it costs more than 10 percent of the loco's price to add a decoder
    it will become a problematic/warranty ongoing headache.

    the companies that are making sound DCC locos are all in this problem area.

    BLI has made a number of locos I want to buy.
    I have not, simply because the locos alone are not worth the price asked.
    I still have to sort out the pick-up issues I've seen
    and I do not trust the decoder to remain functional.
    off to the manufacturer for three months?

    I have a better idea...
    Build a GOOD n-scale loco and put in an option to add a sound decoder.
    that way I can order a replacement sound unit when it fails.
    ... or I can send in a dead sound unit to be fixed.
    ... or I can buy some one else's decoder.

    so far, the sounds I have heard remind me of imitation duck calls.
    close and yet so far...

    TrainFreak, you have my sympathies. expensive models should not fail as yours has.
    I appreciate your sharing your adventures.

    victor

  14. The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to victor miranda For This Useful Post:


  15. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    133
    Thanked 481 Times in 183 Posts
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TrainFreak View Post
    So while the wife and I were running errands, I figured I would go into HobbyTown. Had a DCC equipped test track right behind the counter. Unfortunately, it was unable to detect any decoder in the engine. So off it goes to Broadway Limited while it's still under warranty.

    Current turn around time is up to 13 weeks. I've guess I've waited this long, what's another three months...
    Good to hear Hobby Town was able to check it out for you. That really sucks you have to send it back in for work though. I don't have any N scale BLI locos, so I can't speak on those but I do have several HO scale ones and haven't had any major issues. I did speak with their service people on one occasion, thought the chuff sensor was bad, and they were willing to send me parts to repair on my own. Maybe they would do the same with the decoder?

  16. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Dallas, GA
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 174 Times in 43 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Olie View Post
    Good to hear Hobby Town was able to check it out for you. That really sucks you have to send it back in for work though. I don't have any N scale BLI locos, so I can't speak on those but I do have several HO scale ones and haven't had any major issues. I did speak with their service people on one occasion, thought the chuff sensor was bad, and they were willing to send me parts to repair on my own. Maybe they would do the same with the decoder?
    They did offer the very same. However, I don't trust myself with these small electronics yet. It was nerve wracking enough just pulling the shell off. I have a bad habit of breaking things half the time I try to fix them, so I'm deciding to let the pros do this one at the small cost of Priority Shipping one-way. But it certainly was a convenient offer had I been more comfortable with that option.

    Quote Originally Posted by victor miranda View Post
    so far, the sounds I have heard remind me of imitation duck calls.
    close and yet so far..
    Ya know, not that I heard much of the sound from a couple short laps, but my initial reaction wasn't thoroughly impressed. Although, I must admit I have not heard a wide variety of sound equipped engines in N scale. I only have one other set with sound, those being BLI's Centipedes, and they are way to loud from the factory from my tastes.

    Scott ~ Dispatcher for Norfolk Southern

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to TrainFreak For This Useful Post:


Similar Threads

  1. TCS CN-GP troubleshooting
    By OTFan in forum DCC
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 22nd Jun 2019, 11:19 AM
  2. Replies: 31
    Last Post: 14th Mar 2017, 10:34 AM
  3. Always Troubleshooting...
    By drwonga in forum Layouts, Design, & Planning.
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 13th Dec 2010, 09:32 AM
  4. MRC 250 troubleshooting
    By Schuyler Gore in forum DC Controllers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th Jun 2009, 08:17 AM
  5. Troubleshooting an old Bachmann 4-8-4
    By Bryan in forum Steam
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th Sep 2005, 08:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •