Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 61 to 72 of 72

Thread: Very BEST DCC Switcher?

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    5,495
    Thanks
    11,180
    Thanked 9,236 Times in 2,911 Posts
    Mentioned
    123 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MRLdave View Post
    It's a simple plug in conversion, but getting the body off to do it without tearing at least one of the stupid contact strips that route power from the trucks to the body is almost impossible.
    I'll second that , broke both my SW1200's trying to get the body off , managed to repair one of them but the other I'm not even trying out of sheer frustration.


    I was going to suggest the one you have already bought , the NW2 and exactly that decoder.
    As long as I can model in N-scale, I know I'm not old

    My Flickr Pages

    http://www.janbouli.com

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Janbouli For This Useful Post:


  3. #62
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    New York State
    Posts
    3,298
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    4,452
    Thanked 4,370 Times in 1,532 Posts
    Mentioned
    145 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks and from all accounts installing the decoder into it isn't that difficult either. Just need to be careful removing and reinstalling the contacts apparently.
    Cheers Tony

    "Knowing what to do is one thing ... being able to do it is another"
    "It is easy to criticize ... a lot harder when you have to justify it"

  4. #63
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3,138
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    10,384
    Thanked 4,637 Times in 1,856 Posts
    Mentioned
    93 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Janbouli View Post
    I'll second that , broke both my SW1200's trying to get the body off , managed to repair one of them but the other I'm not even trying out of sheer frustration.
    Shame really, that one of the best-running and nicer looking N scale locomotives (if you can overlook the huge flanges) was so poorly designed to allow the owner easy access to the motor.

    What were they thinking?
    Paul Schmidt

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul Schmidt For This Useful Post:


  6. #64
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    New York State
    Posts
    3,298
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    4,452
    Thanked 4,370 Times in 1,532 Posts
    Mentioned
    145 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    A quick (short) video of the Kato MD NW2's test run:

    https://vimeo.com/367442930

    Test run done in DC on a 3' length of track.
    Cheers Tony

    "Knowing what to do is one thing ... being able to do it is another"
    "It is easy to criticize ... a lot harder when you have to justify it"

  7. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to wombat457 For This Useful Post:


  8. #65
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    fresno Calif USA
    Posts
    391
    Thanks
    99
    Thanked 318 Times in 149 Posts
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ohhhh thats a nice one, my lil bachmann started running kinda right, right after i posted . it still quit running here an there but it did make it all they way around . . Im gunna have to get me another one of them katos. i saw an atlas that looked pretty good too. side note i got my 2 locos running in consist now turned out to be not to bad getting them speed matched only 30 minutes. like the video Thanks for posting

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to sid For This Useful Post:


  10. #66
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    New York State
    Posts
    3,298
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    4,452
    Thanked 4,370 Times in 1,532 Posts
    Mentioned
    145 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks Sid, it's a Kato, what can I say

    One thing I forgot to mention was it took the little "guy" 30 seconds to travel a little less than 3', and will probably go slower on DCC and 100% clean track. The length of track I used was new, but straight out of the box and not cleaned.
    Cheers Tony

    "Knowing what to do is one thing ... being able to do it is another"
    "It is easy to criticize ... a lot harder when you have to justify it"

  11. #67
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    fresno Calif USA
    Posts
    391
    Thanks
    99
    Thanked 318 Times in 149 Posts
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    my lil switcher is slow too and thats ok with me. well i got video of myEDIT wrong video this is video of kato switcher pulling passange cars) video
    OPPS thats the kato switcher

    https://youtu.be/jN3JQQQIlAQ

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to sid For This Useful Post:


  13. #68
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Perth. Western Australia
    Posts
    632
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    1,690
    Thanked 912 Times in 357 Posts
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Nice one @sid !! and you run your switcher at proper switching speeds.
    The coaches are nice cars too, would make a good excursion train, especially with the caboose on the end...
    Cheers,

    Russ

    CEO of Devil's Gate Mining Co.



  14. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mosslake For This Useful Post:


  15. #69
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    fresno Calif USA
    Posts
    391
    Thanks
    99
    Thanked 318 Times in 149 Posts
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks Russ. i saw those and had to have them but there was no caboose , then i spotted that one on flea bay and i had to have it. got me thinking about excursion trains now. dang it now my plans might change on my future layout build.

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to sid For This Useful Post:


  17. #70
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    New York State
    Posts
    3,298
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    4,452
    Thanked 4,370 Times in 1,532 Posts
    Mentioned
    145 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    An excursion/tourist/diner train is a must have for my layouts. No idea why, just seems a good idea and allows me to run passenger trains with steam
    Cheers Tony

    "Knowing what to do is one thing ... being able to do it is another"
    "It is easy to criticize ... a lot harder when you have to justify it"

  18. #71
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    fresno Calif USA
    Posts
    391
    Thanks
    99
    Thanked 318 Times in 149 Posts
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    TONY hahaha i was thinking about a steamer for that set of cars, BUT im already way over my spending limit for the year 5 months ago. But now that you guys have got me thinking about excursion train ????? we'll see about the possibility of a steamer in the future just for that purpose. oh boy the wife's gunna be upset with me for even thinking about this. hahahaha research is whats needed and some extra moola would not hurt either hahaha

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to sid For This Useful Post:


  20. #72
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wombat457 View Post
    I also got my Kato NW2 with the TCS K3D3 decoder recently. It runs beautifully, but I haven't been able to activate RAILCOM.
    The decoder manual shows four CVS involved, all zero as default, see attached pic.
    But I've tried several settings without success

    Any hints?
    Attached Images Attached Images

Similar Threads

  1. Switcher
    By oldscout in forum Diesel
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th Jul 2017, 09:08 PM
  2. Which WP Switcher?
    By Sundiesel in forum General Research
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th Mar 2012, 06:58 PM
  3. GE 70-ton switcher
    By Dixieswitcher in forum Diesel
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 21st Jul 2010, 10:38 AM
  4. Con-cor mp-15 switcher
    By spiralcity in forum Diesel
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21st Apr 2010, 11:46 PM
  5. GE 44-ton switcher ?
    By railohio in forum Diesel
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd Dec 2008, 11:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •