Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: UPDATE lighting test

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Newcastle-u-lyme England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    219
    Thanked 654 Times in 215 Posts
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default UPDATE lighting test

    model new build 5 medium.jpgmodel test med 1.jpgmodel test 4.jpgmodel test 3.jpgmodel test med 2.jpg A light test for my new structure nearly months in....not done any modelling in 7 years so a bit of a learning curve again...First time the LED's were turned up to their brightest level, there are 6 levels of brightness....I was really disappointed looking at the photos because there seemed to be a hiuge problem with light penetrating through the blocked windows....seemed like it was going to be a HUGE problem...however, I tried the light levels again and dimmed to the 2nd level rather than the 6th level....2nd level MUCH more realistic and the problem nowhere near as bad as first thought...just some tweaks...still weeks off finishing though....
    greg

  2. The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to perth45 For This Useful Post:


  3. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    1,181
    Thanks
    3,298
    Thanked 1,413 Times in 654 Posts
    Mentioned
    58 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Don't forget to consider how bright the light will be in the room or location where these will be used. If it's very bright (or dim), then you have to adjust yours accordingly.

  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kingmeow For This Useful Post:


  5. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Newcastle-u-lyme England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    219
    Thanked 654 Times in 215 Posts
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I understand that....my old diorama took up half the room dont forget so I am aware what you say...I deliberatly tested it in a blackened room because i wanted it to show up any light leaks...also, once its placed in the spot that it will finally rest, the light levels of the buildings will stay the same level as the test simply because its the lowest level and as I say, will look more realistic anyway....I don't want the buildings to be glowing after all, and because there will be possibly 25 lit buildings, remember that as a collective. the overall light levels will appear higher anyway.......
    greg

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to perth45 For This Useful Post:


Similar Threads

  1. Test Post
    By steve1t in forum General Rail Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th Jun 2015, 07:25 PM
  2. How do I test smd LED's?
    By bc6 in forum General Wiring
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th Nov 2013, 04:47 AM
  3. Update #8..."the test fit" !!!!!
    By bnsf6951 in forum Layouts, Design, & Planning.
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10th Jul 2013, 09:55 AM
  4. This is a test
    By Jimmi (RIP) in forum General Rail Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th May 2009, 01:39 PM
  5. TEST!!!!!!!
    By Wayne in forum General Rail Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th Jan 2004, 01:52 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •