Thread: Just seeking some clarification on DCC and Unitrack

Thanks
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Just seeking some clarification on DCC and Unitrack

I am a complete noob when it comes to model railroading but I have been googling as much as possible. My track preference is unitrack, I have a generic 6' x 4' setup, big oval/passing lane with 2 turns outs/maybe adding more but its super simple.

1. If I am understanding everything correctly. I can take something like NCE PowerCab and as long as I have good feeder layout, even feeding between the turnouts(so I guess full track power) and DCC equipped locos, i'll be good to go?

2. I'll have to use the kato power pack and kato turnout switch to run the turnouts though, correct? Idk if it matters, but the kato power pack is the dc one from the M1 kit. (or install turnout decoders that the controller will recognize?)

3. Is there a "better" dcc controller that will allow more room to grow into?

I apologize if this has been answered a bunch, tried googling but I haven't had much luck.

Thanks

Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Thanked 7,081 Times in 2,360 Posts
    Mentioned
    215 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Firstly, welcome to the Forums and to the Hobby, you are in for one hell of a ride and a great experience

Quote Originally Posted by Dieselrob View Post
    I am a complete noob when it comes to model railroading but I have been googling as much as possible. My track preference is unitrack, I have a generic 6' x 4' setup, big oval/passing lane with 2 turns outs/maybe adding more but its super simple.

1. If I am understanding everything correctly. I can take something like NCE PowerCab and as long as I have good feeder layout, even feeding between the turnouts(so I guess full track power) and DCC equipped locos, i'll be good to go?