Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: 10 Amp Transformer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    167
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 91 Times in 58 Posts
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default 10 Amp Transformer

    I need to purchase a new 10 amp transformer. My passenger trains are pulling too much power. Any suggestions. I'm using NCE hand held controllers and currently have a 5 amp system. Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    1,664
    Thanks
    8,153
    Thanked 2,388 Times in 1,028 Posts
    Mentioned
    107 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    How many volts?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Lancaster, SC
    Posts
    1,014
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    410
    Thanked 1,878 Times in 642 Posts
    Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You might be better off splitting the layout into two power districts and adding a DB5 booster. Pushing 5 amps into a short is enough to melt N-scale equipment, I don't want to think what 10 amps would do.
    Tim Rumph
    Modeling the Southern Railway in N-Scale

  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Tim R For This Useful Post:


  5. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    17,077
    Blog Entries
    16
    Thanks
    4,770
    Thanked 13,752 Times in 5,605 Posts
    Mentioned
    269 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tim R View Post
    You might be better off splitting the layout into two power districts and adding a DB5 booster. Pushing 5 amps into a short is enough to melt N-scale equipment, I don't want to think what 10 amps would do.
    I'll second this. Besides, unless by "transformer" you mean "booster" or "command station", upgrading your transformer won't give you more amps at the rails. Since NCE doesn't sell a 10 amp booster*, a second 5 amp booster feeding a separate power district would be the way to go. You just have to find a convenient spot to split the layout (hint: think about the electrical load, not the real estate... e.g. if you have a spot where a lot of powered stuff is, say a engine service facility or a passenger car yard, that could be a district even if it's a small part of the layout square footage).

    ETA: * Yes, they do, the PB110a. Nevermind on that point.
    Never mistake a guy who talks a lot for a guy who has something to say...

    CH&FR Site and Blog: http://www.chfrrailroad.net and http://blog.chfrrailroad.net
    Appalachian Railroad Technology: http://www.apprailtech.com


  6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TwinDad For This Useful Post:


Similar Threads

  1. DC transformer
    By oldscout in forum DC Controllers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th Jul 2013, 08:56 PM
  2. transformer yard
    By klaidlaw in forum Layouts, Design, & Planning.
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 30th Oct 2011, 10:36 PM
  3. MRC transformer overload
    By ted0330 in forum DC Controllers
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 4th Jun 2009, 10:20 PM
  4. Recommendations for DC transformer
    By fifer in forum DC Controllers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th Feb 2007, 08:57 PM
  5. AC to AC transformer
    By allan1010 in forum General Wiring
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25th Jul 2005, 08:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •