Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Kato ES44AC Wiring from DCC to DC help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Kato ES44AC Wiring from DCC to DC help

    Im new to model railways and my biggest mistake so far is i bought KATO ES44AC DCC for my DC set up. I did some reading and found out its not working because of the voltage requirements. But if i install a regular led circuit board in place of the DCC it should work. If im wrong please let me know! Is there any way i can diy wire it to make it work untill I can get the led board. I live in the middle of no where and it will be a couple weeks before i can get this piece. Thanks for any help.

    This is what In think I need.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    6,336
    Thanks
    10,527
    Thanked 13,872 Times in 3,913 Posts
    Mentioned
    305 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes that is exactly what you'll need to convert from DCC back to DC.

    I know it's not what you want to hear, but it would be best to wait.
    In the meantime you're not out of running this loco, you'll just have to bump up the throttle to get it to run a little faster.

    The Little Rock Line blog


    “Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience." George Carlin

    Support the natural selection process, remove the warning labels....

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Allen H. For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks for the quick response! Ill get one ordered on Monday.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    6,336
    Thanks
    10,527
    Thanked 13,872 Times in 3,913 Posts
    Mentioned
    305 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chopper54 View Post
    Thanks for the quick response! Ill get one ordered on Monday.
    We have a few Canadian members on the forum, one of them may have one they can sell/give or trade you for, without having to send one across the border.
    I also posted a want add for you since you can't at the moment.
    The Little Rock Line blog


    “Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience." George Carlin

    Support the natural selection process, remove the warning labels....

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Surrey, BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,003
    Blog Entries
    5
    Thanks
    25,954
    Thanked 3,490 Times in 1,096 Posts
    Mentioned
    31 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    I sent a PM last night but haven't received a response as yet.
    Grant.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO, US of A
    Posts
    4,543
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    15,488
    Thanked 10,802 Times in 3,133 Posts
    Mentioned
    191 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Doesn't the DCC decoder have the ability to run on DC?

  8. #7
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    6,336
    Thanks
    10,527
    Thanked 13,872 Times in 3,913 Posts
    Mentioned
    305 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by el Gato Gordo View Post
    Doesn't the DCC decoder have the ability to run on DC?
    Yup, sure does, but as he stated:

    Quote Originally Posted by Chopper54 View Post
    I did some reading and found out its not working because of the voltage requirements. But if i install a regular led circuit board in place of the DCC it should work.
    The Little Rock Line blog


    “Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience." George Carlin

    Support the natural selection process, remove the warning labels....

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO, US of A
    Posts
    4,543
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    15,488
    Thanked 10,802 Times in 3,133 Posts
    Mentioned
    191 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks, @Allen H. Those statements confuse me since all of my Loks operate on both DC and DCC, no problem. I do have the option of turning off the DC mode,which I have done for better running on a couple of them.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    6,336
    Thanks
    10,527
    Thanked 13,872 Times in 3,913 Posts
    Mentioned
    305 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sure @el Gato Gordo.
    It seems to be an issue with some dual mode decoders that are running on DC, but I have no idea why or explanation.

    Since I'm all DCC, that's usually one of the first things I do: Shut off the DC option in CV29.
    Years ago I had one loco that took off full speed down the track and was uncontrollable.

    The chips first look for a DC signal, if no DC signal is found then it looks for a DCC signal.

    A short or glitch or a voltage spike will fool the Dual mode decoders into thinking it's running on a DC signal and since DCC applies full voltage to the rails, off it goes!
    The Little Rock Line blog


    “Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience." George Carlin

    Support the natural selection process, remove the warning labels....

  11. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Allen H. For This Useful Post:


Similar Threads

  1. Kato ES44AC coupler replacement
    By oldnslow in forum Diesel
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 3rd Mar 2018, 09:24 AM
  2. KATO ES44AC ESU Loksound Install
    By roko in forum DCC
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 15th Jan 2018, 12:23 AM
  3. new run kato es44ac
    By 24zer0 in forum Product & Service Announcements
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22nd Sep 2016, 08:08 PM
  4. Kato Ups The Details On Their ES44AC
    By DrifterNL in forum Product & Service Announcements
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8th Nov 2014, 10:50 PM
  5. Kato -> ES44AC (GEVO)
    By DrifterNL in forum Product & Service Announcements
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 16th May 2010, 12:40 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •