Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Atlas RTS Library not complete for Code 65

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 62 Times in 18 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Atlas RTS Library not complete for Code 65

    I just got back into trains, not that I had anything set up but seemed to accumulate way more stuff than one could possibly need. I counted 45 locomotives in N Scale. sigh

    I thought about using two HCD's in an 'L' shape. I had one set up about 10 years ago when I was rehabilitating from hip surgery. I don't have the plans anymore and the pictures on this forum have disappeared when one of the online photo outlets wanted monthly fees. It was a temporary layout but had enough action to keep one busy before tackling something in a dedicated train room so things could be done proper.

    Now the problem. I wanted to use my Atlas Code 65 True Track and maybe download something or build my own. Not much out there for that stuff and I have a ton of it. The Atlas RTS versions 8.0 & 10.0 do not have the full library of track pieces. I do not see where I can add any to it. That put a damper on things right out of the gate. I have since downloaded Scarm and haven't dove heavily into it yet. I did try some Code 80 layouts from books but the pieces do not line up. After building them piece by piece is when I found out the Atlas files for about 18 layouts. I notice they have some misaligned join ups. I get a little frustrated when doing my own and once you start adding switches and different turns is when things do not jive.

    I'm sure if I dig around on some cameras I might get lucky and find those original pictures.

    Is there any files out there for the RTS program to make it complete?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    2,506
    Thanks
    5,771
    Thanked 6,121 Times in 1,616 Posts
    Mentioned
    127 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I don't know about Atlas RTS, but if SCARM isn't to your liking, Anyrail also has a free trial version and has True Track in their library.

    I also don't know if Atlas ever actually released the #5 turnouts and larger ~19 inch radius curves. They announced them not long before Covid hit, and I don't recall actually seeing them available anywhere yet. I used True Track for my first layout and it worked, and lasted for several years until I decided to build a better one. The rail connectors did start to lose connectivity once I started doing scenery around them, so I went back and soldered the rails on a bunch of the connections and added more feeders. It worked. Also, those 12.5" radius turnouts are pretty small, especially if you put them back to back to create a crossover or in a yard. That sort of scenario where they form an S curve is the only place I had problems with them. True Track looks noticeably better than Unitrack in my opinion (including the tie spacing). If Atlas can ever actually bring those other pieces to market, and maybe in the future if they go with more of a grey color for the roadbed I think they'd have a more compelling product line.

    I'll throw this out there - if you find yourself struggling to make the True Track work, consider flex track. I know you said you already have a ton of the True Track, and if it all works for you then great, go for it and have fun.

    Also, ME code 70 flex track will line up very well, and if those 5/1000s of an inch bother anything you can always file the joint perfectly flat. It gives you another option if you just can't quite get something to work with the True Track pieces. Also, it's great for areas like a spur where you want the track to look like it's right on the ground, rather than on main line style road bed.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,922
    Thanks
    5,173
    Thanked 4,224 Times in 1,252 Posts
    Mentioned
    130 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OTFan View Post
    I don't know about Atlas RTS, but if SCARM isn't to your liking, Anyrail also has a free trial version and has True Track in their library.
    Wasn't that Atlas track planning software a re-badged version of one of the big ones, or am I mixing something up here?

    Anyway, and JFTR: xtrkcad also has an Atlas True Track library...

    Heiko

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 62 Times in 18 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I don't see any Code 65 19 degree turns in my stash. The only turnouts I have are 12.5's and there are 15 of them. In the next few days I will be making room for the HCD's. They are currently holding a slew of r/c planes.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island, B.C., Canada
    Posts
    468
    Thanks
    791
    Thanked 1,081 Times in 331 Posts
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Very often we hear of folks who do their planning on CAD, but then when the rubber meets the road when they actually start laying the track, they make any small modifications to suit.

    It would seem that if you can "get close enough" in your planning, then the "real world" can take up the slack.

    Good luck in your planning, always a fun part of the hobby.
    Monopoly & Octopus (modified & expanded) (starts on page 1, Post #29)
    https://www.nscale.net/forums/showthread.php?15459-Monopoly-and-Octopus-RR-Layout/


  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Stu For This Useful Post:


  7. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    CHICAGO!
    Posts
    10,787
    Thanks
    1,504
    Thanked 8,679 Times in 4,766 Posts
    Mentioned
    285 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    If you have access to a Mac you might want to check out…
    https://www.railmodeller.com/home-railmodeller.html

    Atlas Code 65 does have a fatal flaw. No new track has been added in years.

    Do you know about this track?
    https://www.fleischmann.de/fen/produ...ble-track.html
    Use what you know about the world to model…
    Learn from modeling what you don't know about the real world.



  8. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 62 Times in 18 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I did get a plan put to the hcd. It has double track with a few sidings. I just wanted to get something for my locos that I bought years ago on the used market. So far only one doesn't run. I do have a section of track that goes dead from time to time. It is right near the power terminal. My planning was off because once you switch from the inner loop to the outside, you are stuck out there. lol

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 3rd Nov 2019, 09:57 PM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 7th Sep 2016, 07:27 PM
  3. Atlas Code 55 Flex Track W/PECO Code 55 Turnouts
    By I Remember Steam in forum Trackage
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23rd Apr 2016, 11:00 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th Sep 2007, 11:04 AM
  5. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2nd Jun 2007, 03:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •